Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Disable boot sound?

  1. #1
    Member Mr-Protocol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    142

    Default Disable boot sound?

    Booting from a Live CD. How would you disable the sounds? On BT3 you could edit the boot menu with a --nosound and it would disables sounds. It sort of fits with the whole... "The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear..."

  2. #2
    trellis
    Guest

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    Disable ALSA/alsa-utils from boot and ARTS in KDE?

  3. #3
    Member Mr-Protocol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    142

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    No clue what you just said.

    On backtrack 3 i just had to hit "tab" at the boot menu and add --nosound at the end and boot up and all sounds were disabled.

  4. #4
    Member ColForbin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    Please wait for someone who knows what they're talking about, but...

    ... Couldn't you just use this blog entry, edit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist, and blacklist all sound modules.

    root@bt:~# lsmod |grep snd
    snd_hda_codec_idt 55764 1
    snd_hda_intel 24712 0
    snd_hda_codec 57204 2 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel
    snd_hwdep 6776 1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm_oss 37728 0
    snd_mixer_oss 14324 1 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_pcm 67704 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
    snd_seq_dummy 2424 0
    snd_seq_oss 27328 0
    snd_seq_midi 5952 0
    snd_rawmidi 19488 1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event 5972 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq 47568 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
    snd_timer 19068 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    snd_seq_device 6048 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
    snd 50468 12 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_ hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_os s,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    soundcore 5856 1 snd
    snd_page_alloc 7836 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

    - And then recompile the ISO?

    Again. Wait for someone who knows for sure. Don't break your system on my account.

    -- Okay. I did a simple experiment on my machine. I issued the command:

    Code:
    ~# rmmod snd_hda_intel
    Then I browsed to SomaFM and opened one of the stations. The station opened in vlc, without sound.

    Then I went back to the terminal and issued the command:

    Code:
    ~# modprobe snd_hda_intel
    Back in vlc, I stopped the streaming station, and then started it. Voila! Sound was back.

    That being said, if I were trying to recompile a custom BackTrack DVD on my system, I'd use that blog post up there, add the line:

    blacklist snd_hda_intel

    to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist, recompile the ISO and go from there. That's all theory, of course.
    Last edited by ColForbin; 01-21-2010 at 01:38 PM.
    "Whatever happened to playing a hunch, Scully? The element of surprise, random acts of unpredictability? If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced."

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    Upgrade to bt 4 final there is no support here for 3

  6. #6
    Member Mr-Protocol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    142

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    I am using BT4 Live CD. I was just refering how it was done on BT3 and wondering how it's done on BT4.

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr-Protocol View Post
    No clue what you just said.

    On backtrack 3 i just had to hit "tab" at the boot menu and add --nosound at the end and boot up and all sounds were disabled.
    BT Menu > Settings >Sound & Multimedia > Sound System
    Disable the "Enable the sound system" box.

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    That's all fine and dandy, until he reboots. He's using the live cd.

    @OP

    Type alsamixer before startx. You'll be able to turn down the volume before you startx.

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Disable boot sound?

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    That's all fine and dandy, until he reboots. He's using the live cd.
    I missed that part... Sorry.

    @OP
    Customizing Backtrack - Offensive Security
    You can use some of the members methods associated with this tutorial to make a new liveCD with sound disabled by default.
    Or you can just disable the boot theme and leave all the rest active, if that's what you want (title:disable boot sound). I believe there is an option to do this on BT's settings page.
    Last edited by Snayler; 01-21-2010 at 09:11 PM. Reason: Some more info added

Similar Threads

  1. Boot Error (Can Start but not Boot)
    By AtHacks in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 10:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •