Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    Quote Originally Posted by bwana View Post
    I can download the drivers as you instructed to my mac. My bt4 is running as a vmware image so i navigate to the shared folder where they are located. I compile them and the wl.ko file appears as expected. I issue the commands:
    modprobe lib80211
    insmod wl.ko

    bt4 responds with silence (no errors at least)

    but iwconfig or ifconfig -a fails to reveal any wireless interface.
    Changing the WPA supplicant driver is next? Please how?
    i cannot do the apt-get since I have no ethernet cable.

    Modprobing and insmoding should come with silence so that's not anything to worry about.
    Do this in exact order:
    Start the KDE.
    Open a shell.
    Issue the command /etc/init.d/networking start
    When it's finished, insmod and modprobe the driver.
    When that is done, go to the KDE menu, hit services and click NETWORK START (or start network)
    Then open the WICD network manager, do you see any networks?


    /Stormeye.

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    ^

    I did exactly how you mentioned above and still wicd shows "No wireless networks found". I run BT4 on VMWare and the network setting for the virtual machine is "bridged" . I can connect to the internet through my wireless card with this setting , but BT4 doesn't see it .

    When i issue /etc/init.d/networking start besides the ip configuration it shows this:

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.

    What to do ?

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    Hi,

    I'm getting the same error as the guy above.

    # /etc/init.d/networking start
    Configuring network interfaces...eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.

    Im using a Dell 1379 Wireless card manufacturer is Broadcom

    im a total newb at this, i downloaded the broadcom drivers and no idea how to install them.

    I'm also using VMware and running Backtrack as an image. Does making your wirless bridged have any affect? and is there a way of using VMware to get Backtrack to see your wireless?

    Thanks a I do appreciate any help you can give me on this, been pulling my hair out for the last few hours!

    kind regards,

    Saqib

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO sl33p's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    Hi,

    I am not able to build the wl.ko module when I try to perform the manual method.
    Here is the result:

    Code:
    root@bt:/usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid# make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
    make: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8'
    
      WARNING: Symbol version dump /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8/Module.symvers
               is missing; modules will have no dependencies and modversions.
    
      LD      /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/built-in.o
      CC [M]  /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/shared/linux_osl.o
      CC [M]  /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.o
    /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c: In function '_wl_set_multicast_list':
    /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c:1433: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'mc_list'
    /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c:1433: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'mc_count'
    /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c:1434: error: dereferencing pointer to incomplete type
    /usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c:1440: error: dereferencing pointer to incomplete type
    make[1]: *** [/usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.o] Error 1
    make: *** [_module_/usr/local/src/broadcom-hybrid] Error 2
    make: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8'
    I followed the instructions strictly. How do I solve the problem with function "_wl_set_multicast_list", in order to build wl.ko module successfully?

    Thanks in advance
    "If you can't describe what you are doing as a process, you don't know what you're doing."
    W. Edwards Deming

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    sl33p: Try redownloading, if it doesn't help I would be happily to upload a compiled wl.ko (and everything with it).

    As for you two others, I don't have any experience how it works in VMWARE as I've never used it.


    Try visiting the IRC-channel for the BackTrack-projekt.


    #backtrack-linux at irc.freenode.org


    / Stormeye

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    Hi,

    When i tipe /etc/init .d/networking start I get:
    Code:
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.
    And if i try apt-get... it sais i need to tipe apt-get update and if i try that it sais again that i need to tipe apt-get.

    Please help! I just installed BlackTrack 4 R2 so im a noob .

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    I tried your instructions but when I try /etc/init.d/networking start, I get this in the konsole
    Code:
    root@bt:~# /etc/init.d/networking start
    Configuring network interfaces...eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.
    What is the problem with my laptop?
    It's a MacBook Pro6,2
    With Airport Extreme - Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0

    My ethernet is connected, but I still don't have a connection with the wireless network(firefox does open google.ca but I still get the same message when I run /etc/init.d/networking start).
    Please help.

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO sttlnb53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    I have been trying to get my BCM4313 chipset to work for the past couple of days. I finally got to the point where I am almost there but it seems that I need a couple of packages that I do not know how to get. Whenever I try to compile the driver I get an error that looks like this

    Code:
    root@bt:~/hybrid_wl# make clean
    KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` clean
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8'
      CLEAN   /root/hybrid_wl/.tmp_versions
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8'
    root@bt:~/hybrid_wl# make
    KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8'
    
      WARNING: Symbol version dump /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8/Module.symvers
               is missing; modules will have no dependencies and modversions.
    
      LD      /root/hybrid_wl/built-in.o
      CC [M]  /root/hybrid_wl/src/shared/linux_osl.o
      CC [M]  /root/hybrid_wl/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.o
      CC [M]  /root/hybrid_wl/src/wl/sys/wl_iw.o
      LD [M]  /root/hybrid_wl/wl.o
    ld: Relocatable linking with relocations from format elf64-x86-64 (/root/hybrid_wl/lib/wlc_hybrid.o_shipped) to format elf32-i386 (/root/hybrid_wl/wl.o) is not supported
    make[2]: *** [/root/hybrid_wl/wl.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/root/hybrid_wl] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.35.8'
    make: *** [all] Error 2
    In the readme file on broadcoms website it says

    Building this driver requires that your machine have the proper tools,
    packages, header files and libraries to build a standard a kernel module.
    This usually is done by installing the kernel developer or kernel source
    package and varies from distro to distro. Consult the documentation for
    your specific OS.


    If you cannot successfully build a module that comes with your distro's
    kernel developer or kernel source package, you will not be able to build
    this module either.
    And I found a list of the tools that I need here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1266620

    but I unable to find them in Synaptic Package manager.

    Any idea where I could get these tools?

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    Ok so i got apt-get update and apt-get upgrade now work (i reinstalled BT on Virtual Box).

    But what to do with tar.gz file (i enter the code (tar xzf hybrid-portsrc_x86_32-v5_100_82_38.tar.gz)but it sais file not found (i got it in C:\))

    Maibe i shuld know where to put files (but i have no idea). I just installed it so im a total noob .


    EDIT:

    Can someone tell me what to do with tar.gz file??? i put the file into .iso file and mount it on bt4 but bt4 dont find tar.gz file on it.
    Last edited by sickness; 02-18-2011 at 05:31 PM.

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Getting BROADCOM Wireless to work in BackTrack!

    Im pretty new to linux but i've followed all of you're instructions and it still won't find wlan0... i have it plagged in via a cable right now. i've tried every thing here except the patch, i'm not sure how to do that, and i can't make the 64 bit version of the driver but thats probably because i have a 32 bit os on my 64 bit laptop. It doesn't give me any errors or anything, other than not finding wlan0. Could this be caused by my laptop (hp touchsmart tx2) having my wireless card off? the light in front shows that it's disabled (orange light instead of blue) and the switch won't do anything (itsone of those switches that you slide over and then it slides back as opposed to staying over). as far as i can tell this is the only difference that would stop it from working...

    Update: So it's not the light, ive gotten the OS to load with the wlan light blue. It was suggested to me that my wireless isn't called wlan0 so when i start networking it doesn't start... how would I figure out it's name assuming the drivers work? I actually found instructions specifically for my laptop but openSuse with the same instructions as here, minus starting the network.
    Last edited by sqrdsqr; 03-02-2011 at 12:19 AM. Reason: Updating

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. does rtl8192e wireless card work on backtrack?
    By leeyj4951 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 08:40 AM
  2. Broadcom no wireless Backtrack 4 beta
    By Ropp222 in forum OLD Bt4beta Non-Working Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 10:56 PM
  3. Broadcom 4310 rev 01 -- does it work?
    By XLinux10 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 06:36 AM
  4. Broadcom 4311 Does Work :D
    By TheVault in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 03-30-2008, 05:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •