Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Netbios Password

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO sosavpm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Somewhere down south
    Posts
    5

    Default Netbios Password

    Hi, i've been using backtrack for quite a while but i've enconuntered a problem that i can't seem to solve.

    I am trying to connect to my PC (Asus/Vista Home Premium SP1) throught the NETBIOS by using:
    Code:
    smbclient //ASUSGAME-PC/C$ -I 172.18.2.103
    but it then immediatly asks me for a password:
    Code:
    Enter root's password:
    But my computer has no password, i have not set up any password. Is there a default password that im unaware of. I've tried a bunch of passwords (default,password,admin,etc.) but to no avail.

    If anybody has any idea about this I'd be mighty glad.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    0,0
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Netbios Password

    Have you tried no password?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    limerick,ireland
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Netbios Password

    if it is looking for the root password isnt that the defaults for ubuntu when installed?

    eg.
    default username : root
    default password: toor

    ??

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default Re: Netbios Password

    No password and a username of root? I'd lay good odds that doesn't work. Now if you told smbclient to try connecting as a different user perhaps...
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  5. #5
    Member muminrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Netbios Password

    Create user name and set a password on your WINbox, and this is how i connect to Win7
    smbmount //IP/SHARENAME /mnt/WIN7 -o user=username

  6. #6
    Senior Member voidnecron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Netbios Password

    First of all, SMB uses backslashes, not forward slashes.
    Try \\IP\share.
    Next, Windows doesn't allow system shares (C$, IPC$ etc) to be mounted/connected with a blanc password. You'll need to give your account a (simple if you like) password.
    If you don't know your useraccount name, try going to the C:\documents and settings\ (WXP) or the C:\Users (Win7) folder and see if you have an account next to "All Users". Most likely you login with administrator and a blank password.
    Last edited by voidnecron; 10-30-2010 at 05:28 PM.
    "The difference between RAID1 and RAID0 is that the zero stands for how many files you're gonna have after a harddisk failure."

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO sosavpm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Somewhere down south
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Netbios Password

    Thanks, I will try and post the results!

Similar Threads

  1. Netbios SSN
    By RexBudman in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 09:52 AM
  2. 139/tcp open netbios-ssn attack
    By maxdd in forum Discussioni Generali
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 06:10 PM
  3. hey yoo netbios hacking
    By killadaninja in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-16-2008, 08:34 AM
  4. enumerating netbios
    By hhmatt in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 08:51 PM
  5. Resolve netbios hostname
    By kingpin in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-29-2007, 11:34 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •