Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    Hi guys ..... I know u must of heard this before but i am new to this and have searched endlessly for 2 weeks and got no where so i thought id ask an xpert

    here goes.....

    I am running bt4 inside oracle vbox with an alfa awus036h i am also using an usb dongle for my internet

    the problem being i can dload the drivers to my vista pc but cant do it through bt4 as i cannot get access to the internet thorough my usb dongle with bt4

    so how do i update the iso [within vista] with the new alfa drivers.

    Thank you very much in advance

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    Why are you downloading drivers at all - the awus036h works out of the box on BackTrack 4...
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    as long as it's exactly the awus036h it should work fine. try it with backtrack 4 r1. If you can't get it working well, bad luck - honestly.
    proud user of backtrack-ng and aircrack-linux

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    5

    Red face Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    Thanks for your advice guys

    i am dloading the r1 release as we speak.... So ill keep you posted lol

  5. #5
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    It should work with BackTrack 4 Final as well... mine definitely does.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    Just as a note - because my helldesk hat is on today and the phone is ringing off the hook.

    Make sure you are actually using the network interface parts of your VBox, and aren't trying to get network connections from the ethernet card or something stupid like that.

    As everyone above says, you should be able to use it just fine.
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    It should work with BackTrack 4 Final as well... mine definitely does.
    Mine works fine when I boot BT4 but not in Virtual Box? How did you get it to work it Virtual Box? I am running BT R1

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    America
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    correct me if im wrong but if your using a virtual box dont you have to tell it to detect the usb ports in the menu?

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    Ok guys ... I got it to work ....

    If i boot the pc into the backtrack r1 dvd it works a treat ...

    But i stilll cant get it to work with the virtual machine.

    Ps. Thanks a lot for all the help guys ....

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Pulling my hair out ... Grrr!!!!

    Hi im bk .... Got it all going perfect .... But lol

    cant get it to do handshake in wpa2 ..... Any ideas

    thanks in advance

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 02:11 AM
  2. Tearing my hair out with Airpwn installation
    By relaxis in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-16-2008, 01:20 PM
  3. iwlist problem ! grrr
    By ELCouz in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-18-2008, 07:00 PM
  4. pulling informaton from raid
    By GunMonkey in forum OLD Specialist Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 06:10 AM
  5. AirPwn running but not injecting > pulling hair out
    By beakmyn in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-25-2008, 07:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •