Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: MITM - Wireless Connection Only

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default MITM - Wireless Connection Only

    Ive been playing around with Airbase, DHCP Server, and ettercap.

    My question is, Im using a laptop and im connected to my wireless network.
    And I want to know if I can create an FAKE AP then routing that fake AP to my real AP which im connected to? But all wireless.? Or do i need to be connected to the internet through a lan cable, and create the fake ap to route the client to that internet?

    I just want to know if i can do this wirelessly. Just my laptop connected to the AP and then routing the client through my fake ap to my real AP, and be able to sniff.

    Thanks

    Hello,

    Ive been using Airbase, Ettercap, DHCP for a little bit now. And would like to know if this scenario is possible.


    1. My laptop is connected to the internet through my AP wirelessly !!!!
    2. Create a fake AP, and have this FAKE AP route clients to my real AP?Thus allowing me to sniff.

    a) Do i have to be connected to the internet through a cable to make this work? Or can my laptop be connected to the internet through my AP.


    Ive been playing around with this now, and only managed to get the FakeAP up and running. I can connect to it. I can even use ettercap or wireshark to sniff. But the DHCP server part is failing. Because when I connect my phone to the FakeAP, the internet does not work. So im guess the DHCP server is setup wrong, and its not routing the FakeAP to the real AP.

    Any help will be good. Thank you,
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 10-26-2010 at 09:03 PM.

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default Re: MITM - Wireless Connection Only

    If you want to connect/distribute or publish two wifi networks at once, you need two cards. Plain and simple.

    I've not run a configuration like this on my dual-wifi-nic laptop before, and though I have the feeling I've seen it said somewhere that you can't do it, I've no good reason to see why not. One frequently bridges two wifi connections on a FreeBSD device kicking around the LAN with success - problems may be a limitation of airbase/fake-ap.

    Process is simple: Connect NIC 1 to wifi network. Start fakeap on NIC 2.
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    135

    Default Re: MITM - Wireless Connection Only

    Would also help if you post the command(s) that you've used to setup the DHCP server and what was the output of the command when initiated.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: MITM - Wireless Connection Only

    Check out the experts forum - I have Rogue AP script that may help you...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 71
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 11:35 AM
  2. Need help with wireless connection
    By Skitz in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 04:23 AM
  3. wireless MITM
    By samer in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-10-2009, 11:14 AM
  4. connection to wireless lan
    By yoma819 in forum OLD BT3beta Software related issues
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-25-2007, 03:54 PM
  5. MITM on Unsecured Wireless AP
    By Magnet in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-07-2007, 12:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •