Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Wireless Network, BT4 running on VBox

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down Wireless Network, BT4 running on VBox

    Hello, after 2 days with frustated attempts, i gived up and came here to ask for your help.
    I already tried everything i found on internet.

    so, let's to the facts, i am running BT4 on a VBox in my Ubuntu 10.04, wich my wireless and cable internet works fine.

    On my Ubuntu:

    ~$ lspci | grep Atheros
    01:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Atheros AR8132 / L1c Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev c0)
    ~$ ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet Endereço de HW 00:26:18:9b:5e:20
    endereço inet6: fe80::226:18ff:fe9b:5e20/64 Escopo:Link
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Métrica:1
    pacotes RX:29368427 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 quadro:0
    Pacotes TX:80 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 portadora:2
    colisões:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:22751 (22.7 KB) TX bytes:9600 (9.6 KB)
    IRQ:24

    lo Link encap:Loopback Local
    inet end.: 127.0.0.1 Masc:255.0.0.0
    endereço inet6: ::1/128 Escopo:Máquina
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Métrica:1
    pacotes RX:12 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 quadro:0
    Pacotes TX:12 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 portadora:0
    colisões:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:720 (720.0 B) TX bytes:720 (720.0 B)

    vboxnet0 Link encap:Ethernet Endereço de HW 0a:00:27:00:00:00
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Métrica:1
    pacotes RX:0 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 quadro:0
    Pacotes TX:0 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 portadora:0
    colisões:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet Endereço de HW 00:25:d3:38:f4:36
    inet end.: 192.168.0.121 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Masc:255.255.255.0
    endereço inet6: fe80::225:d3ff:fe38:f436/64 Escopo:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Métrica:1
    pacotes RX:11348 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 quadro:0
    Pacotes TX:11912 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 portadora:0
    colisões:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:8000639 (8.0 MB) TX bytes:2286056 (2.2 MB)
    ~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"@home"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:26:5A:5A:49:02
    Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
    Retry long limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality=55/70 Signal level=-55 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    vboxnet0 no wireless extensions.
    Okay, now on BT4, running on VBox, with bridge on eth0 and wlan0

    ~# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:2a:de:4c
    inet addr:192.168.0.4 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe2a:de4c/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:21 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:1098 (1.0 KB)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0xd020

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:7b:1e:54
    inet addr:192.168.0.132 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe7b:1e54/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:76 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:91 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:56428 (56.4 KB) TX bytes:11017 (11.0 KB)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0xd240

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:644 (644.0 B) TX bytes:644 (644.0 B)
    ~# lspci | grep Atheros
    RETURNS NOTHING
    ~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 no wireless extensions.
    I can use wireless on eth1, i didn't changed anything, as i use on Ubuntu on wlan0, i can use on BT on eth1. Cable internet i can use on eth0, normally, works fine.
    But i can't use airmon, aircrack or anything that i want, so, please, HELP ME!

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums espreto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    303

    Default Re: Wireless Network, BT4 running on VBox

    Dude, if you want to use well the resources airmon, aircrack, among other features wi-fi, forget the principle of VM. Give the boot to the dvd will backtrack and see that it will connect normally! Ok?

    Regards,
    (gdb) disass m(y_br)ain

    ®

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Wireless Network, BT4 running on VBox

    No virtualization software is able to control directly* your PCI devices. Only USB ones. Now you have 2 options:
    Run BT4 from a DVD/USB/HDD;
    Get a USB Wireless adapter.

    *virtualization software usually creates some virtual adapters that function as a bridge between your network adapters and the software. But it will only give you access to the network your adapter is connected to, not the actual adapter.
    Last edited by Snayler; 10-24-2010 at 04:48 AM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TOTSE
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Wireless Network, BT4 running on VBox

    Boot it from a Live CD bro. My friend had this same problem - in the end he just performed a complete HDD install and everything worked fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Having trouble getting my network card running. Please help
    By vampirepsycho in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2010, 06:13 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 11:34 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 06:57 AM
  4. Scanning the network for a specific running program
    By ka1z3r1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-01-2009, 01:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •