Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Network Problems in VirtualBox

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Network Problems in VirtualBox

    I recently purchased a Alfa AWUS036H, and I have yet to get it to work.
    I've tried installing both the 100mw and 1w drivers on Windows 7 with nothing. I have tried installing them on Backtrack 4 R1 by running the CD in Wine and installing "Windows Drivers".

    On top of that, I can't get Backtrack in VirtualBox to find any wireless connections. I find them fine outside of it in Windows 7. I've went to Network options and picked nearly every combo I could with no luck.
    If anyone could help, I would appreciate it. I've searched, and I almost feel I have a faulty Alfa. But if so, I still need to know how to get WiFi in VirtualBox without the adapter.
    =]

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Network Problems in VirtualBox

    Quote Originally Posted by Reece View Post
    I have tried installing them on Backtrack 4 R1 by running the CD in Wine and installing "Windows Drivers"
    Why would you do that?
    Quote Originally Posted by Reece View Post
    On top of that, I can't get Backtrack in VirtualBox to find any wireless connections.
    Have you tried VMware? Backtrack-linux already has a pre-made image available for download.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Network Problems in VirtualBox

    Quote Originally Posted by Snayler View Post
    Why would you do that?

    Have you tried VMware? Backtrack-linux already has a pre-made image available for download.
    A guy told me to.. >_>

    No, I haven't tried it. Is it that much better than VirtualBox? It should work shouldn't it.

  4. #4
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Network Problems in VirtualBox

    Try importing the BT .vmdk in VirtualBox then go to Settings, networking, and select Bridged network than choose your adapter and it should work.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

Similar Threads

  1. Network Problems in VirtualBox
    By Reece in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2010, 10:42 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 11:54 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 06:57 AM
  4. Network problems
    By imported_jimbo79 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-01-2009, 03:52 AM
  5. Network connection problems!
    By lumberJack in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-26-2008, 05:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •