Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Question Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    Hi Everyone,

    I am trying to use Backtrack 4 on a VM in Mac OX 10.6 (Snow Leopard) and for some reason I cannot get an internet connection if I use a Bridged connection. If I use a NAT connection I have no issues.

    I cannot understand why this is as I have looked at the settings, started all network services on backtrack but still nothing on Bridge connection. Is there something that I am missing thats particularly obvious?

    Ged

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    There could be a number of reasons. Have you confirmed that there is nothing on the bridged network that is causing this? For example, does the DHCP server (if you are using one) have available leases, is there any sort of MAC filtering on the bridged network, etc...
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    Are you wired or wireless? I've had issues with wireless bridging with fusion, in windows, so I don't think it's an os thing.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    Every time I start bt4 in Fusion (bridged or nat) I've been using this

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/networking start
    to start my interfaces, how have you been starting them? and have you tried using ifconfig to see if they have been started?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    I have a MACBOOK and installed vmimage of BT4. Is it possible to use the vmimage of BT4 as gateway and share wlan0's internet connection to the macbook through vmnet1.
    I'm trying to do this without using a router.
    My main problem is that BT4 and MAC OSX cant have connection each other without a router

  6. #6
    Junior Member br0c07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    Which version of VMWare Fusion are you using guys? I am running 3.1.1 on Mac OS 10.6 and can get an IP with a bridged connection for both BackTrack 4 and Windows VMs (Windows 7 64 bits). I used the Windows VM every days as it is my work VM and joined to a domain and BackTrack on a regular basis, I have never had any issues.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    @br0c07 did you use vmware image or .iso?

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    Quote Originally Posted by jinxc View Post
    Every time I start bt4 in Fusion (bridged or nat) I've been using this

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/networking start
    to start my interfaces, how have you been starting them? and have you tried using ifconfig to see if they have been started?
    Ah, thanks, this worked for me...

  9. #9
    Junior Member br0c07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 on VMWare Fusion

    Quote Originally Posted by rickburgen View Post
    @br0c07 did you use vmware image or .iso?
    I used the ISO image.

Similar Threads

  1. Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)
    By verysofttoiletpaper in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 08:44 PM
  2. backtrack 2 + n3 + vmware fusion hangs
    By steffi in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 12:25 PM
  3. installing vmware-tools in vmware-fusion running bt4-prefinal
    By littlegreendragon in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:50 PM
  4. [Problem] VMware tools install Guest OS on Vmware Fusion
    By Tharp94895 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2009, 02:24 PM
  5. BT3 VMWare image suitable for VMWare fusion?
    By Huegel in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-12-2008, 05:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •