Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Keeping confguration unchanged after reboot

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    56

    Default Keeping confguration unchanged after reboot

    Hi guys,

    I'm using BackTrack4 in my office to run a MySql server for internal testing purposes and it's working fairly well till now with 1 inconvenience that it doesn't autostart. Sometimes I have to shutdown the server and after booting again certain parameters like ip address, mounting a separate HDD partition etc. get reset and I have to manually assign IP, mount partition, start required services like Mysql, SSH again.

    Is there any way to avoid that ? That is, to assign the same network configuration, starting of certain services and auto-mounting the partition ?

    For setting ip address I tried editing "/etc/network/interfaces" like this:

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback


    face eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.111
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.0
    broadcast 192.168.1.255
    gateway 192.168.1.1

    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet dhcp

    <snip>
    For auto start of services, I edited rc.local file and added the commands

    /usr/bin/start-sshd
    and so on.

    But both didn't work. Can someone point out the correct way of doing it ? I read some cryptic (to me) article where they were using scripts to do similar stuff, but all that is beyond me. Even if I could somehow manage to write a script to automatically do all that in case of an unexpected reboot (which I don't know how to ) how'll that script run by itself automatically ?
    [FONT="System"][COLOR="DarkSlateBlue"][B]I am not arrogant, just better than you.[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums espreto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    303

    Default Re: Keeping confguration unchanged after reboot

    Is there any way to avoid that ? That is, to assign the same network configuration, starting of certain services and auto-mounting the partition ?
    Yes there is!

    To mount partitions you will need to edit the /etc/fstab file.
    After configuring the network, use the command below:

    Code:
    # update-rc.d networking defaults
    To start the Service you may search by four different ways:

    1 - Boot services through symbolic links.
    2 - Initialize services through the command update-rc.d.
    3 - Boot services through the tool rcconf .
    4 - Startup services via /etc/rc.local.

    Now only use our google friend!

    Regards,
    (gdb) disass m(y_br)ain

    ®

Similar Threads

  1. Keeping xterm up after command is finished
    By isdigit in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 06:04 AM
  2. Realtek works before reboot, after reboot nothing works. Cant even reinstall card.
    By rowebil in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Software Related Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2009, 03:50 AM
  3. Keeping BackTrack up to Date
    By muts in forum OLD BackTrack News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2009, 09:58 AM
  4. keeping bt2 updated and secure?
    By Unregistered in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-19-2007, 08:43 PM
  5. BT2 & Parallels: keeping original partitions intact
    By miguel in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2007, 01:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •