Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    Hey,
    I installed BT4 final on my 2 GB Transcend flash drive, it works fine, everything is good, but one problem - it doesn't detect my 2 NTFS partitions, so I can't access my hard drive. Weird, because with BT4 pre-final everyhing worked fine, partitions were detected....

  2. #2
    Member DigiP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    Have you tried mounting the drives manually? Type mount from a terminal and see if they show up first. If not, you can try fdisk -l. Then just mount them manually now that you know what the device names are. This isnt a bug, but more a basic linux thing, and probably shoul dhave been put in the beginners forum. My BT4 Final thumbdrive sees my HDD's just fine.
    Last edited by DigiP; 01-17-2010 at 12:13 AM.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    Had problems with BT4P-F detecting NTFS partitions and had to mount them manually, but with BT4 Final - no problems.
    all things must end

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    I had to use force mount to get the NTFS partition mounted IDE drive Hitachi 2,5'' when running from Live CD.
    Error were that NTFS were already in use.
    - It were not.
    /Ice

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    I know you can do it by adding the necessary ntfs device entry in /etc/fstab.

    But I have noticed that while in KDE, if you open up Konqueror and do the following, you'll have your device mounted to /media/<device>:
    - in Location field, enter media:/
    - click on the device you need mounted

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    35° 47' N/ 78° 39' W
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    1. Open Terminal

    2.Type: mkdir windows

    3.Type: mount /dev/sda1 ~/windows

    Note: if NTFS is on sda2, then type: mount /dev/sda2 ~/windows

    and so on...

    If not sure type: Fdisk -l
    The only truly secure computer is one buried in concrete, with the power turned off and the network cable cut. ~??????

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    i noticed that in konquerer you have to go to system first then storage media if you are running backtrack off live cd or usb but if you actually install backtrack you can view your other media by going directly to storage media in Konquerer

    live run /system/media

    install /media

Similar Threads

  1. X doesn't support the VIA Chrome9 HC3 out of the box
    By ToolZ in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 03:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •