Thread: Dell laptop problem.

Just burned his ISO

Default Dell laptop problem.

I have a Dell Latitude 110L , i got it new about 6 years ago. (i know i should upgrade).
    I have backtrack4 on disk and available on virtual machine.
    I read through the forums and did searches and couldn't find anything to help me resolve this, if i missed something a link to what i missed would be greatly appreciated.
    I originally tried running backtrack4 in VMware and i found out only USB wireless adapters will work in VMware so when i tried using my build in wireless card that was why it didn't work.
    Since then i have tried running it right off the computer, once i'm in the GUI i am a little lost. I have taken linux classes and i'm no expert but i know my way around and i know basic commands.
    I tried using a USB wireless adapter once in the GUI, and i found it under devices, but it wasn't configured right, or even at all.
    I tried the (start> network> Start network, but i believe i need to get the wlan configured. I honestly don't know what to do to get this working.
    I am doing this to learn how to crack WEP set up at a in home lab.
    I am open minded to alternatives. I was wondering if anyone knew about any windows XP programs i could use that is compatible with my wireless card.
    I am currently ordering a brand new USB wireless adapter which should come next week and i'm hoping i can resolve most of my problems with that.
    However i would still love to know how to configure a USB wireless card to get to the point where i can get onto the internet.
    Thanks a lot, i hope someone can help point me in the right direction.
    Also let me know if you need to know more specs on anything

Default Re: Dell laptop problem.

No one will be giving you tips about Windows XP programs here, given that this forum is for BackTrack Linux.

How do you configure a wireless card in BT and connect to the Net?