Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Swap: Wlan0 & Wlan1

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Good friend of the forums Eatme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Socks5
    Posts
    308

    Question Swap: Wlan0 & Wlan1

    I made a mistake and forgot I wasn't on VMware where I can revert back to a previous state and was trying to test my unsupported Wifi card.

    I installed the supported drivers for the card, well everything works, I just want my wlan1 to become wlan0 again.
    Wiffy-Auto-Cracker - was the best thing that ever happen to me. :) Wo0oT :)
    AWUSO36H_500mW_5dBi Antenna

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Swap: Wlan0 & Wlan1

    why would it matter at all what number is after wlan? Usually it goes in what sequesnce you connect to or power on those devices.
    but once again why would it matter?
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums Eatme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Socks5
    Posts
    308

    Default Re: Swap: Wlan0 & Wlan1

    Quote Originally Posted by gunrunr View Post
    why would it matter at all what number is after wlan? Usually it goes in what sequesnce you connect to or power on those devices.
    but once again why would it matter?
    it would matter because now I have to change all my scripts to use the interface wlan1 instead of wlan0(the default)

    and I won't be using this card anymore, and I don't know how to uninstall the driver.
    Wiffy-Auto-Cracker - was the best thing that ever happen to me. :) Wo0oT :)
    AWUSO36H_500mW_5dBi Antenna

  4. #4
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Swap: Wlan0 & Wlan1

    you know it would make you life a hell of alot easier if you just used the built in tools like Gerix wifi instead of making your own scripts. the driver isn't whats setting wlan0 or wlan1, if you unplug whatever wlan1 is it won't come up when you restart and whatevers connected will become wlan0...

    just think of it this way there's drivers for 10 different wireless chipsets included with BT when i boot my install up with 1 connected, it comes up as wlan0, if the hardware ain't there then number isn't going to increment
    Last edited by gunrunr; 09-28-2010 at 03:15 AM.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums Eatme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Socks5
    Posts
    308

    Default Re: Swap: Wlan0 & Wlan1

    Quote Originally Posted by gunrunr View Post
    you know it would make you life a hell of alot easier if you just used the built in tools like Gerix wifi instead of making your own scripts. the driver isn't whats setting wlan0 or wlan1, if you unplug whatever wlan1 is it won't come up when you restart and whatevers connected will become wlan0...

    just think of it this way there's drivers for 10 different wireless chipsets included with BT when i boot my install up with 1 connected, it comes up as wlan0, if the hardware ain't there then number isn't going to increment
    I don't like gerix its not customizable like i want it to be, with scripts you can make anything do what you want it to do and how you want it to do it.

    All I have to do is type 1 command with a script and it does anything I want it to do, with gerix you have to input a few things..but back on topic:

    How do I uninstall the driver ?
    Wiffy-Auto-Cracker - was the best thing that ever happen to me. :) Wo0oT :)
    AWUSO36H_500mW_5dBi Antenna

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Swap: Wlan0 & Wlan1

    You just don't get it do you.
    Ok look how you install a driver, in reverse is generally how you uninstall it. Meaning if you extract a tar.gz to /driver/ then just delete either the contents of /driver/ or the whole directory. Further this is a basic linux task and I would suggest you read the links below. They will tell you how to use linux so you can be a super l33t hax0r your grandmother's kitten's computer genius.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Similar Threads

  1. Ignoring unknown interface wlan1=wlan1? heLP?!
    By j0eh4x in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2010, 12:16 AM
  2. Wlan1 to wlan0
    By sab3awi in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 03:12 PM
  3. To swap or not to swap
    By Virchanza in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-14-2009, 12:33 AM
  4. BT3 / EEE pc / Swap
    By SuperFlyLoser in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2008, 07:27 PM
  5. Swap Use
    By theSpoon in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-12-2007, 06:53 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •