Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Psyco not detected

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Psyco not detected

    In Bactrack 4 R1. After.... apt-get update apt-get install and apt-get dist-upgrade.. When execute Fast-Track.. the following error "Psyco not detected....Recommend installing it for increased speeds. Command-line mode is being depreciated."

    Facce0FF

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Psyco not detected

    Well I am not sure if this is really a bug. There may have been some changes do to recent updates of fasttrack.
    Just install psycho and you will be good to go, I believe you can do so right from the FT directory, look for a install or setup script. I don't remember the name right off hand, and don't have access to my BT machine. If you get stuck just post back and I will look into it again.


    EDIT: In /pentest/exploits/fasttrack/ run # ./setup.py and it will take care of things for you.
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 09-22-2010 at 10:30 PM. Reason: See edit.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Problems with starting Backtrack

    I use backtrack 4 final vmware when i opened it, it opened but when i reboot I type in startx then the following in the image below appears what should i do to start the backtrack

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Problems with starting Backtrack

    I use backtrack 4 final vmware when i opened it, it opened but when i reboot I type in startx then the following in the image below appears what should i do to start the backtrack

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Psyco not detected

    Hi!,

    I installed BT4R1 iso in vmware7, ran fast-track and selected update all, it did but after that it says "Psyco not detected....Recommended installing it...."

    ran the setup.py install

    but to no avail...


    any ideas??

    regards

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Psyco not detected

    "Psyco is a Python extension module which can greatly speed up the execution of any Python code." from Psyco Web.
    So the problem has nothing to do with psyco.

    I ran fast-track for the first time and it worked, but I selected the update option and now when I try to run fast-track it seems like it doesn't recognize the modes:

    For example: ./fast-track.py -i

    And I get:
    Code:
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Fast-Track - A new beginning...
    
    Automated Penetration Testing
    
    Written by David Kennedy (ReL1K)
    
    Please read the README and LICENSE before using
    this tool for acceptable use and modifications.
    
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Modes:
    
    Interactive Menu Driven Mode: -i
    Command Line Mode: -c
    Web GUI Mode -g
    
    Examples: ./fast-track.py -i
              ./fast-track.py -c
              ./fast-track.py -g
              ./fast-track.py -g <portnum>
    
    Usage: ./fast-track.py <mode>
    I ./fast-track.py

  7. #7
    Member iceman_3233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Washington
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: Psyco not detected

    Hi Archangel-Amael. I did the same as FaceOff. Though I got this error. python: can't open file 'ftgui': [Errno 2] No such file or directory. I checked the /pentest/exploits/fasttrack folder and saw the ftgui. When I ran Fast-track again I got the same error and noticed the ftgui folder missing. I ran the ./setup.py and python install, but fast track is still not working. I am running off a USB persistant stick and have not had any problems with Fast Track until I Dist-upgraded? Any guesses? Is there a fix in the repos for this?

    Thanks
    The enemy is no longer ignorance - It is vigilance

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Psyco not detected

    do a rm -rf /pentest/exploits/fasttrack
    svn co / - Revision 343: /fasttrack /pentest/exploits/fasttrack

    That should resolve the issue, think it was a bad package. Sorry about that.

  9. #9
    Member iceman_3233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Washington
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: Psyco not detected

    Revision 343 and still have the same error (python: can't open file 'ftgui': [Errno 2] No such file or directory) when I do Backtrack/Penetration/Fast Track/Fast Track Web GUI. Opened up a shell and type ./fast-track.py -g, it works but the Web GUI does not? I noticed a python 2.5-dev connection error when I do the python setup.py install command? Have not had any problems with Fast-track up until now.
    The enemy is no longer ignorance - It is vigilance

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Psyco not detected

    I, too, have had issues with errors after updating fasttrack.

    My fix:

    Code:
    apt-get remove fasttrack
    
    apt-get install fasttrack

    This doesn't really address the issues behind the update breaking scripts, but it at least allows you to revert back to basics (rel1k's post is currently not an option due to secmaniac.com being down with a DNS error).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. No AP detected
    By Euphoria in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 06:24 AM
  2. metsvc detected
    By eqweo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 11:39 AM
  3. BT4 - no wifi detected.
    By V1ru5 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 10:05 AM
  4. Meterpreter exe's now detected
    By b3r00tb4ck in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 04:58 PM
  5. How can wrong IP bee detected?
    By imported_capron in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-25-2008, 10:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •