Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphics.

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    Does all of this still apply the same to bt4-r2?

    edit: intel gma 3150, bt4-r2 I was able to simply edit my xorg.config

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    Quote Originally Posted by fromthestars View Post
    Does all of this still apply the same to bt4-r2?
    Yes, I can confirm the same issues using a fresh BackTrack 4-R2 live USB, at least on my hardware (ASUS Eee PC 1005PEB which uses the Intel N450 Pineview/GMA 3150 chipset).

    I experienced the same issues with the GMA 3150 IGP not being recognized by the intel video driver, and that the non-standard resolutions (ie, 1024x600) are not listed in the Intel Video Bios by default.

    BackTrack 4-R2 is still using xserver-xorg-core 1.5.2 and xserver-xorg-video-intel 2.4.1. Full hardware acceleration support of the latest Intel integrated graphics platforms requires (X-org 1.8) to upgrade to at least version (2.12) of the xserver-xorg-video-intel drivers.

    (Intel Linux Graphics: 2010Q2)

    Quote Originally Posted by fromthestars View Post
    edit: intel gma 3150, bt4-r2 I was able to simply edit my xorg.config
    Can you confirm what resolution X is starting in? Use the following command from a terminal while in X:
    Code:
    root@bt:~# xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 800 x 600, maximum 800 x 600
    ...
    Also could you share your hardware information, and the relevant parts of your xorg.conf.

    Code:
    root@bt:~# lshw -C cpu
    *-cpu
            description: CPU
            product: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N450   @ 1.66GHz
    ...
    root@bt:~# lshw -C display
    *-display:0 UNCLAIMED
            description: VGA compatible controller
            product: N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller
    ...

  3. #13
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Riferimento: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrate

    it's ok! Works!!!! on asus eeepc 1001px!!!!(only little problem (for now) i'm working manual! many thanks to spy3dweb "sorry my english"

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    Quote Originally Posted by spyd3rweb View Post
    Before you attempt to get the framebuffer hook to work, you must first make sure that you can run 915resolution manually. Can you post the 915resolution command you are using and the resulting error(s)?

    Also, before you repost please see the following readme for more information on how to use 915resolution:

    (http://915resolution.mango-lang.org/readme.html)
    FATAL: Error inserting uvesafb (/lib/modules/2.6.30.9/kernel/drivers/video/uvesafb.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

    And The command i use to start 915resolution is: 915resolution 45 1024 600 24

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    Damm It finaly made it work, to put it to work, and missing from the tutorial, you need to edit you rc.local file and inside put your resolution mode inside, thanks to spyd3rweb, he's a freaking genus, and likes to help, if all on this community were like him, all of us would be already seasoned veterans. (Not Licking Your Boot) But the matter took me 1,1/2 weeks.
    Ohh i almost forgot now KDM reports that im running on low graphics mode, i will try something, will let you know, if it works, because i'm not using kdm-kde3, i use kdm-kde4, it looks better.

    The code to start the resolution it's already on the framebuffer file that you create.
    Just put the line into your rc.local by using your favorite text editor.

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO 0xphk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    /dev/hal
    Posts
    5

    Default AW: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    Great tutorial, worked like a charm on my EEE 901

    got also a higher terminal resolution without x

    awesome

    thanks mate

    cheers phk

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    Thanks for the tutorial, worked perfectly on my EEE PC 1015PEM.

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    I am giving this another go after installing r2 and I am having some issues, i have gotten all the way to rebuilding intramfs image but it wont allow me to

    when attempting

    update-initramfs -u -k 'uname -r'

    it is coming back with

    cannot find /lib/modules/uname -r


    i feel like im doing something stupid here, i am so close please help me out here

    ************************************************
    followed to a T and it worked the first time np, i have to set resolution manually each time...

    sudo 915resolution 5a 1024 600 24

    for some reason auto init script is working

    dell mini 210 intel gma 3150
    Last edited by akuj1n; 01-04-2011 at 07:22 AM. Reason: false hope

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    Quote Originally Posted by akuj1n View Post
    when attempting: update-initramfs -u -k 'uname -r'

    it is coming back with: cannot find /lib/modules/uname -r

    i feel like im doing something stupid here, i am so close please help me out here
    Those aren't apostrophes (') they're backticks (`), on the same key as the (~). The backticks are used to run a command and return its output.
    Code:
    update-initramfs -u -k `uname -r`
    As pointed out by Jurimaru earlier in the thread, if the above command fails and complains about missing the v86d package, execute the following command and try update-initramfs again:
    Code:
    apt-get install v86d
    Last edited by spyd3rweb; 01-03-2011 at 08:49 AM. Reason: Grammar

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Workaround: BT4-r1 lacks 1024x600 Resolution support for Intel Integrated Graphic

    I was able to get this working without updating the intell driver 2010q2/q3 but could you go ahead and explain how to install that driver update as well?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?
    By falseteeth in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 03:17 PM
  2. Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics
    By Big Boss in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 01:47 AM
  3. Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?
    By falseteeth in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 08:53 PM
  4. BT4 lacks TRIM-support
    By randalth0r in forum Tool Requests
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 12:54 PM
  5. BT3 with issues with integrated video + workaround
    By Darkpaw in forum OLD BT3beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 04:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •