Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

    My host machine is a lenovo thinkpad running ubuntu 10.04 karmic koala and I am attempting to emulate BT4 R1 in virtual box, but I have literally been trying to figure out how to start networking for over 6 hours.. Literally. I'm very frustrated to say the least. Here's the steps/output/settings for some of the things that I've tried for this particular setup. First off, the output of my host machine after running this command to detect my NIC (I think), reads:

    [command]
    Code:
    sudo lshw -C net
    [output]
    Code:
      *-network               
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection
           vendor: Intel Corporation
           physical id: 19
           bus info: pci@0000:00:19.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 06
           serial: f0:de:f1:03:52:ea
           capacity: 1GB/s
           width: 32 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=e1000e driverversion=1.0.2-k2 firmware=0.12-1 latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=twisted pair
           resources: irq:33 memory:f2400000-f241ffff memory:f2425000-f2425fff ioport:1820(size=32)
      *-network
           description: Wireless interface
           product: WiFi Link 6000 Series
           vendor: Intel Corporation
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
           logical name: wlan0
           version: 35
           serial: 00:24:d7:3e:38:78
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=iwlagn ip=129.161.201.160 latency=0 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11abgn
           resources: irq:35 memory:f2000000-f2001fff
      *-network DISABLED
           description: Ethernet interface
           physical id: 2
           logical name: vboxnet0
           serial: 0a:00:27:00:00:00
           capabilities: ethernet physical
           configuration: broadcast=yes multicast=yes
    This seemed kind of interesting to me, even though I'm not entirely sure what this output is/means, the "*-network DISABLED" indication right above an entry with the line "logical name: vboxnet" makes me think and wonder..

    Virtualbox configurations network-wise looks like this:


    Once I boot up and log in as root in BT4 R1, I try to configure networking to work one of several ways.

    One way is by running:
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/networking start
    But this only results in the browser thinking it can load pages, and taking a while to figure out that it actually can't. Or, I will try to ping google via the cli and it will take a while and not work.

    I've also tried to manually set up the eth0 interface with the dchp server by using the following two commands:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhclient eth0
    But this just results in the command line trying to ask the DHCP for what it needs and never getting a response, until the command gives up, reporting that it will "sleep" or something similar.

    I've also tried to manually assign an IP instead of asking the DHCP server for one. I don't actually want or need to do this, it was just a means to an end to try and get networking up, but its still not working anyways. Here are the commands:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 100.100.100.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
    route add default gw 100.100.100.2 eth0
    I also added a dns server IP to the resolv.conf file in combination with these two commands, and still no luck at at with any tests with wget, ping, or browser tests.
    [/code]

    Any/all help is very mch appreciated, and I'm sorry for wasting space on the forum for such a trivial question, but honest to god I'm fed up trying to do it myself, I really need some help.

    Brodeur235

    P.S.
    This thread on the virtualbox forums was kind of helpful, though it just let me know a bunch of people in similar situations were experiencing similar problems, and never presented any solution..

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

    OK, you have clearly put some effort into trying to resolve this.

    Resolving this is really going to all be about properly diagnosing the cause of the problem, so I'll throw some of ideas of things to check at you.

    With your virtual adaptor setup in bridged mode your BT virtual machine will attempt to obtain an IP address off a DHCP server on the network that eth0 from your Ubuntu host system is attached to. Is that DHCP server functioning correctly? There is no filtering or other limitations on the use of MAC addresses on your switch is there - since this will involve traffic from two different MAC addresses coming from the same physical host, and MAC filtering on your switch/router would prevent this from working.

    What output do you get from the commands 'ifconfig', 'cat /etc/resolv.conf' and 'route' after running '/etc/init.d/networking start'? Do you see evidence of an address being assigned to an interface after running that command? Can you do a DNS query? Can you ping your local default gateway, or the eth0 interface of your Ubuntu host? (Be aware if you have a firewall on your Ubuntu system)

    What about performing the same troubleshooting steps after manually assigning details.

    Also try capturing packets using Wireshark on your Ubuntu system and on your BT system. What do you see when you try and ping or do lookups from your BT system? What should you see? (Compare with what happens on your Ubuntu box)

    What about if you set the network to NAT mode in VirtualBox?
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

    This maybe a long shot but in your vbox setting above where it says "advanced " There is a check box for cable connected, check it and then start the guest and see if it works. (see also your picture above). That is really the only thing that I can see that stands out as being different to what I can produce here.
    As for the lshu output I get the same thing both with and w/o a cable attached to the host.
    Code:
    SNIPPET 
     *-network DISABLED
           description: Ethernet interface
           physical id: 1
           logical name: vboxnet0
           serial: 0a:00:27:00:00:00
           capabilities: ethernet physical
           configuration: broadcast=yes multicast=yes
    dork@dork:~$
    Also are you trying to bridge to your host's eth0 - or another adapter?
    The reason I ask is because you mention "after running this command to detect my NIC (I think), "
    lshw is really not the right command to configure a network card, it merely shows you some information.
    A better choice would be ifconfig considering it is used to configure cards, that are kernel resident.
    Just because your system recognizes the card doesn't always mean it is communicating with it.
    See also section 4.3 here .
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO mAsTERpEE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nairobi Kenya
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

    Ubuntu 10.4 with Virtualbox: 3.16 with guest WinXP SP3

    1st day using virtualbox. DHCP works fine but thats about it

    ASSUMING YOU HAVE DHCP 3 INSTALLED
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Code:
    virtualbox
    # GOTO File->Preferences <Ctrl+G>
    # GOTO Network
    # CLICK vboxnet0
    # CLICK Edit btn
    # SET
    IPV4 Address 192.168.1.1
    IPV4 Mask 255.255.255.0
    IPV6 Address (empty)
    IPV6 Mask (empty)
    # GOTO Machine->Settings <Ctrl+S>
    # GOTO Network
    SELECT Attatched to: Host only adapter
    SELECT Name: vboxnet0
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/default/dhcp3-server
    # SET
    INTERFACES="eth0 wlan0 vboxnet0"
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf
    # COMMENT OUT
    option domain-name "example.org";
    option domain-name-servers ns1.example.org, ns2.example.org;
    # SET
    default-lease-time 600;
    max-lease-time 7200;
    # AFTER
    # A slightly different configuration for an internal subnet.
    #subnet 10.5.5.0 netmask 255.255.255.224 {
    # ADD
    subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
    range 192.168.1.100 192.168.1.200;
    option domain-name-servers 192.168.1.1,208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220;
    option domain-name "ubuntux.org";
    option broadcast-address 192.168.1.255;
    option routers 192.168.1.1;
    option ntp-servers 192.168.1.1;
    option netbios-name-servers 192.168.1.1;
    option netbios-node-type 2;
    }
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces
    # ADD
    auto vboxnet0
    iface vboxnet0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.1
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.0
    broadcast 192.168.1.255
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    sudo /etc/init.d/dhcp3-server restart

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO mAsTERpEE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nairobi Kenya
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

    Silly me!! I had firewall configured. Once I turned it off everything works fine. I don't know anything about iptables so your on your own but thats how to set it up. For now you have to call the following before starting the virtual box. Don't know how safe this is.

    Code:
    sudo iptables -vI INPUT 1 -i vboxnet0 -j ACCEPT
    sudo iptables -vI OUTPUT 1 -i vboxnet0 -j ACCEPT
    Create a custom launcher
    Code:
    tee ~/Desktop/virtual-xp.desktop > /dev/null <<_EOF_
    [Desktop Entry]
    Type=Application
    Name=XP
    Comment=Dark Edition V8
    Exec=bash -c "gksudo 'iptables -vI INPUT 1 -i vboxnet0 -j ACCEPT'; gksudo 'iptables -vI OUTPUT 1 -o vboxnet0 -j ACCEPT'; sleep 1; vboxmanage startvm 'Virtual-XP'"
    Icon=/usr/share/icons/application-default-icon.png
    StartupNotify=true
    Hidden=false
    NoDisplay=false
    _EOF_
    chmod 755 ~/Desktop/virtual-xp.desktop
    Welcome
    Last edited by mAsTERpEE; 10-21-2010 at 07:53 AM. Reason: Temp Solution Found

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

    Hello all,

    I am also having issues with my internet connection in BT4 via virtualboxhttp

    going on 4 hours now.

    I am extremely tired and frustrated. So for time sake, I am going to post an image of the output I get at the terminal when I try the code that brodeur235 tried. I am still a noob @ linux but I know my way around terminal somewhat. It seems like maybe I missing a file. I just dont know. Any help would be great. Like I said I am just ready for sleepy, sorry for the sloppy post. If you need info and specs I will reply as soon as I can. Thanks

    Last edited by shiftie; 10-22-2010 at 05:57 PM.

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking

    Quote Originally Posted by shiftie View Post
    Hello all,

    I am also having issues with my internet connection in BT4 via virtualbox

    going on 4 hours now.

    I am extremely tired and frustrated. So for time sake, I am going to post an image of the output I get at the terminal when I try the code that mAsTERpEE tried. I am still a noob @ linux but I know my way around terminal somewhat. It seems like maybe I missing a file. I just dont know. Any help would be great. Like I said I am just ready for sleepy, sorry for the sloppy post. If you need info and specs I will reply as soon as I can. Thanks

    Try it as root.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Similar Threads

  1. [virtualização] - Instalar o Virtualbox
    By maxbomb in forum Suporte Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 01:03 PM
  2. BT4 VMWare on XP Host
    By mattyj1085 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 07:17 AM
  3. Running BT3 in VirtualBox with a 64bit host
    By AbsolutePower in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2009, 07:03 PM
  4. Ettercap-ng same all host has same MAC
    By imported_capron in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 04:24 PM
  5. I've a 90mb wordlist if anybody can host it???
    By drgr33n in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 05:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •