Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Install.sh freeze, other way?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default Install.sh freeze, other way?

    Hi BT,
    I have some problem with install.sh and ubiquity on my hdd in dualboot with wxp...it freezes after the keyboard selection so since i cant boot from USB i'm asking you if with boot.ini and grub4dos i can try to boot bt4 and then install it on a new primary partition (premaded with wxp)

    I already tried unetbootin but after it extracts the BT4 files in my partition it reboots back to wxp..

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Install.sh freeze, other way?

    I had a similiar issue on an old toshiba portege. It was Bt3 and I used freedos to boot into grub. I think.

    Have you tried going thru Vmware?

    Have you checked the MD5 of your iso ?

    Clean your laser on your dvd drive using a cleaning disk, burn the iso at a really low speed and see if you can get past the keyboard selection screen.

    Have you used the live boot version and have had no issues?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Install.sh freeze, other way?

    VMware Workstation v7 said my cpu cant support the program
    MD5 shouldnt be different since i can (sometimes with squashfs error) boot in persistent mode, framescale mode and so on..
    I made 3 verbatim dvds at 2x,4x,max speed with "Infrarecorder", "Imgburn", "Nero express"

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Install.sh freeze, other way?

    Quote Originally Posted by maxdd View Post
    Hi BT,
    I have some problem with install.sh and ubiquity on my hdd in dualboot with wxp...it freezes after the keyboard selection so since i cant boot from USB i'm asking you if with boot.ini and grub4dos i can try to boot bt4 and then install it on a new primary partition (premaded with wxp)

    I already tried unetbootin but after it extracts the BT4 files in my partition it reboots back to wxp..

    Any suggestions?
    Might want to check the md5 of your download.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Hash is the same, checked with MD5 Hash 1.0

    AF139D2A085978618DC53CABC67B9269

    UP plz

    Here's the error:

    SQUASHFS error: Unable to read fragment cache...

    Burned 3 times :V dvd-reader probs?
    Last edited by balding_parrot; 06-01-2010 at 12:25 PM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Install.sh freeze, other way?

    Any ideas?

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Install.sh freeze, other way?

    Quote Originally Posted by maxdd View Post
    VMware Workstation v7 said my cpu cant support the program
    MD5 shouldnt be different since i can (sometimes with squashfs error) boot in persistent mode, framescale mode and so on..
    I made 3 verbatim dvds at 2x,4x,max speed with "Infrarecorder", "Imgburn", "Nero express"
    I have a computer that can only run VMware 6.5, which I used to install BT to HDD.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Install.sh freeze, other way?

    Quote Originally Posted by Snayler View Post
    I have a computer that can only run VMware 6.5, which I used to install BT to HDD.
    Thnx for the help...VMware 6.5 run on my laptop so thorugh the vmimage of BT4 i was able to load it.... just a little question.. is that image like a persistent mode?

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Install.sh freeze, other way?

    Quote Originally Posted by maxdd View Post
    Thnx for the help...VMware 6.5 run on my laptop so thorugh the vmimage of BT4 i was able to load it.... just a little question.. is that image like a persistent mode?
    Any changes made to the vmware image of BackTrack will be saved. BTW, if you want to install BT4 to your hard drive in order to take full advantage of RAM, CPU, etc... you can follow this guide:
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...rkstation.html

Similar Threads

  1. USB konsole freeze
    By misery89 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 10:51 PM
  2. aireplay-ng freeze
    By pafuin in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 09:44 AM
  3. System freeze !!!
    By morphois in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 11:27 AM
  4. BT3 - Extreme Freeze
    By SquattingBull in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 09:01 AM
  5. Install freeze at /opt
    By HeroinHero in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2008, 02:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •