Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: BT2Final - Login Problems - No LiveCD

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default BT2Final - Login Problems - No LiveCD

    hi all,

    well i have just read almost all of the "login-issues" threads on this board and i am wondering, that there is weather an official statement concerning the problems, nor any possible solutions for this problems!!

    theres a wonderful CD called backtrack and nobody knows, whats the problem with all the login errors?? dont tell me that!


    1. i downloaded bt2f from official site, did an md5 checksum check, no errors
    2. i burned the cd, low speed, no errors
    3. i installed bt2f on dualboot with winxp, no errors
    4. i logged in with root / toor, no errors
    5. i started x, no errors
    6. i went to console and did a passwd, changed pw with no errors
    7. next day i turned on my laptop, @lilo i chose bt2, the login prompts -> root / mynewpassword -> login incorrect !! shit happens and nobody knows why???


    so please feel free to give me an answer, i have no idea!!

    thx

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Well... this isnt an issue with BT at all...
    if you cant remember your password...
    Anyways. have you tried back toor?
    Boot back the live cd and chroot, you should be able to use the passwd again from the BT partition.

    If not... well re-install.
    [FONT="Verdana"][SIZE="1"]Great spirits have always encountered opposition from mediocre minds. The mediocre mind is incapable of understanding the man who refuses to bow blindly to conventional prejudices and chooses instead to express his opinions courageously and honestly.[/SIZE][/FONT]

  3. #3
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Budh.nop View Post
    Well... this isnt an issue with BT at all...
    if you cant remember your password...
    Anyways. have you tried back toor?
    Boot back the live cd and chroot, you should be able to use the passwd again from the BT partition.

    If not... well re-install.
    Agreed sounds like PEBKAC to me.

    PEBKAC=Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    well thanks a lot for your replies but please be sure that there is no PEBKAC at all !

    also if i am adding a new user on a bt hd install i never would be able to login as root afterwards...

    its that strange and ive no idea...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hi,


    I had same problem before.
    I suggest to you, burn the ISO again on a totally new CD and reinstall it.
    This helped me.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    well it seems that i will not understand the WHY but if its the only solution ill try it...

    thanks a lot

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Try a different brand of media. If you are using cdrw, try a cdr. I've got some memorex high speed cdrw that will not burn correctly no matter what I do. The burning proceeds with no errors but the md5sum of the disk doesn't match the md5sum of the iso.

    I do most of my burning with linux, but nero with xp has the same results.

    Some media just sucks. You get what you pay for.

    I've never had any problems with verbatim media, btw.

    Write your new password on a post it and stick it to your monitor.
    Sorry, I couldn't resist.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    well it just took me three minutes to calm down after i loughed out that loud !

    i really love this post - especially your reply. thx for it!

    cya

  9. #9
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    I'm curious if you add step 8 to your original list what happens.

    Step 8 being:
    8. i logged in with root / toor

    ie: Be sure your password change actually took.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    well for sure i tried even root/toor on step 8 but no chance to login...

    so i did a fresh install again and now, when i am using backtrack, i am using root/toor and will never change this again since i have just made an user account and still have the problem, that the new user cant login with test/test

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •