Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How can i configure the listening IP:Port of Apache2?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default How can i configure the listening IP:Port of Apache2?

    Hi everyone.

    I am quite new to BT and i came across with a issue yesterday and since then i havent managed to find a solution. My problem is that i would like to start the Apache server but i dont know where i can configure the listening IPort.

    In other linux Distros i used to compile, run and configure apache but in BT i have noticed that the configuration is done with a different method. For example i used to configure all the settings of the server within "httpd.conf" but i noticed that in BT the configuration is splitted in more files (ports.conf etc) hence i cannot find where exactly i can configure the listening IP-port.

    I just need my apache to run on (lets say): 192.168.1.33:8080

    thanks in advance

    p.s oops i posted the same thread on "how to" section...sorry

  2. #2

    Default Re: How can i configure the listening IP:Port of Apache2?

    it's not BT4 related, this is the usual setup of Apache2

    Code:
    cd /etc/apache2/ && grep -i listen *
    ..will tell you, port.conf is what you are looking for (overwriting global var)

    and if you run multiple sites/ip's, you need the according vhost configuration
    Code:
    cd /etc/apache2/sites-enabled
    /brtw2003
    Last edited by brtw2003; 09-02-2010 at 02:37 PM.

  3. #3
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: How can i configure the listening IP:Port of Apache2?

    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How can i configure the listening IP:Port of Apache2?

    Thanks a lot that worked!

    The default way when configuring apache, as far as i know and as far as many times iv downloaded and compiled the server, all configuration including the listening port was done through:

    httpd.conf (according to TFM)

    From there, is up to the user if he would like to generate extra ".conf" files and inlcude them - call them from the main configuration file httpd.conf. I assume it has to do with different versions. But anyway, issue solved.

    Thanks for the quick replay and support

    yours

Similar Threads

  1. XPlico update in repo causes apache2 error
    By gunrunr in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 10:33 PM
  2. port scan to find systems without a certain port open?
    By humbleman in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-30-2009, 04:14 PM
  3. BT4 Listening Ports - Should there be so many?
    By PyrO_PrOfessOr in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 04:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •