Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: DWL-G650+ and Live CD

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default DWL-G650+ and Live CD

    Guys,

    I have a DWL-G650+ (PCMCIA) it works in Windows XP but when I boot up with the Live CD it doesn't recognise it. I have put in another PCMCIA (Orinoco Clasic Gold PC Card) and the Live CD detects it.

    How do I get it to recognise the DWL-G650+

    John.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    72

    Thumbs up

    After BT2 boots, pull up a terminal and type:

    airmon-ng stop ath0
    airmon-ng start wifi0
    ifconfig ath0 up

    Then check by typing iwconfig.... and you should see the unit in monitor mode.

    Have fun.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I will try it later.

    Does this work if I don't have ath0 and wifi0 when I do iwconfig in a terminal?

    Thanks

    John.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Assuming you are using the BT2 live CD, these are the terminal commands.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I boot up with the Lice CD, login and the run startx. When I go to a Konsole and type iwconfig it displau l0 and eth0 (I belive eth0 is my on board network card)

    John.

  6. #6
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrhotdoguk View Post
    I boot up with the Lice CD, login and the run startx. When I go to a Konsole and type iwconfig it displau l0 and eth0 (I belive eth0 is my on board network card)

    John.
    lo is the loopback interface, eth0 is (probably) your NIC.

    Try removing your card, then reinserting, then type "dmesg" the last few lines should tell you what's going on with the wireless card.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Yes, you should see also ath0 and wifi0 in addition to lo and eth0 at boot up. And, with dmesg, you should see on the last page...without scrolling....wifi0: Atheros 5212 (which is the chipset).

    If you don't see those after reinserting card or rebooting with card in slot, you might have a differfent card....or a bad card. Does the card LED light up? Before typing in the commands I mentioned earlier, you should see one LED light.

    Good luck. The card is a good one with BT2....if you can get it working.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Judging from the '+' at the end I would say it has the different chipset
    and the only ndiswrapper works with this card.
    Try lspci command, then you see the chipset.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    72

    Default

    You're right. I missed the +. Then it would be a TI ACX100 chipset, Ndiswrapper, and no injection.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    So does that mean no use for cracking WEP?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •