Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: backtrack 4 r1 grub problem

  1. #11
    Junior Member Tr00g33k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: backtrack 4 r1 grub problem

    Yes i have tried manual, but gaved me some error like i said, but i have tried doing like you said on some other computer installing bt through VMware, works just fine

    I havent been doing further researching, when i have time, i will try to do it one more time on the computer that gaved me error. Maybe the computer was sick or something at the time of insatlling BT

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Left Coast, USA
    Posts
    3

    Question Re: backtrack 4 r1 grub problem

    I'm running into the same issue with my Averatec 3500C Tablet PC. I've tried BT3 & BT4-R1. I was trying to boot from the CD\DVD with both versions and get the same result.I wanted to use the Live CD\DVD but not install it or dual-boot it. I've tested the MD5s and they are both good and both run fine on my Gateway laptop. So I know it's not the iso's or the burn of the discs.
    When I try booting the BT4-R1, I get dropped into GRUB>: Not sure why.
    And when I tried BT3_final, I got a message saying something about "Kernel Panic!!!", then it locks up and I have to drop the batteries and AC power to shut it down.
    I've tried playing with the BIOS settings, but there isn't much to the BIOS in the Averatec.
    I'm thinking that BT just doesn't like the AMD Athlon XP-M mobile processor....? That would suck because the tablet is lighter than my Gateway and has the touchscreen as well. I'm not sure if BT will even be able to access the touchscreen or not since I can't get either to boot proper.

    Anyone else have an Averatec 3500C that CAN run BT on it?

    Any help at all,

    Thanks

  3. #13
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: backtrack 4 r1 grub problem

    Have you tried booting Backtrack from a usb drive?

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: backtrack 4 r1 grub problem

    I'm having a similar problem. Dual boot to Win7, grub boots to BT4-r1 fine, but selecting Windows 7 it jumps back to grub. I can't boot into Win7 anymore. Any grub edit suggestions? TIA

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Cool Respuesta: backtrack 4 r1 grub problem

    I got the same problem, I have a ACER Aspire One 532h, everytime that I tried to install BT the grub shows me that message, I already tried using USB Pendrive, external CD-rom, and using my others computers to install the BT on the HD. I really don´t know what to do, because Ubuntu 10.10 is running fine on this computer. I really appreciate any help with this matter.

  6. #16
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Respuesta: backtrack 4 r1 grub problem

    Quote Originally Posted by BTXGNU View Post
    I got the same problem, I have a ACER Aspire One 532h, everytime that I tried to install BT the grub shows me that message, I already tried using USB Pendrive, external CD-rom, and using my others computers to install the BT on the HD. I really don´t know what to do, because Ubuntu 10.10 is running fine on this computer. I really appreciate any help with this matter.
    Have you tried one of these?:
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...rkstation.html
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...irtualbox.html

    With VMware, it's the same thing for windows or linux (or at least I think it is), but you'll have to make some slight changes if you are using VirtualBox on Ubuntu.
    Instead of following the part where I tell you to run the VBoxManage command, follow the guide on this link: How To Run VirtualBox using a Physical Partition using Ubuntu Feisty Fawn « Blarts , and continue following my guide from here:
    Now that we have the configuration file for our hard drive, let's create the virtual machine and assign the VMDK file as the "virtual" drive.
    The rest should be the same for windows and linux. Any doubts you can post there.

    Hope it helps!

    EDIT: As for the partitioning part, you can use gparted.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 01:12 AM
  2. Backtrack grub and Ubuntu grub
    By gots2love&hateIT in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 05:07 AM
  3. problem with grub
    By clorus in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 09:54 PM
  4. Grub boot problem BT4 USB
    By ee0u30eb in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 10:23 AM
  5. BT4 USB Boot problem - Grub
    By falcaun in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •