Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BT 4R1 on OSX 10.6 using WMware Fusion

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    France/Sweden/Russia
    Posts
    6

    Question BT 4R1 on OSX 10.6 using WMware Fusion

    Hi,

    I'm trying to figure out how to install BT 4 R1 on my Macbookpro using VMware Fusion.
    I've downloaded the VMware image of BT4 R1 and launched it in VMware Fusion. Then I've started the install.sh script. I've already installed plenty of linux distros so I know how it works but here I get an error I've never had :

    Code:
    Failed to unmount partitions
    The installer needs to commit changes to partition tables, but cannot do so because partitions on the following mount points could not be unmounted:
    
    /
    
    Please close any applications using these mount points.
    
    Would you like the installer to try to unmount these partitions again?
    Then I tryied to pre-allocate my VMware space disk but it was unsuccessful. I still get this freakin' error message...

    Anyone's an idea ?

    Thanks a lot !

    PS : I'm using VMware 3.0.1 on OSX Snow Leopard 10.6.2

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: BT 4R1 on OSX 10.6 using WMware Fusion

    You dont need to install the VmWare image - its an already installed pre-configured OS in VMWare form.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Senior Member lordplagueis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: BT 4R1 on OSX 10.6 using WMware Fusion

    im using it on my iMac with 10.6 and vmware fusion you must extract it first
    HP DV7
    8GB DDR3
    Core i7-720QM
    Nvidia GeForce GT 320M

    BT5-64bit x WIN7-64bit DualBoot

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: BT 4R1 on OSX 10.6 using WMware Fusion

    Quote Originally Posted by lordplagueis View Post
    im using it on my iMac with 10.6 and vmware fusion you must extract it first
    Extract what? The vmware image is already an installed os. There's no need to run the install.sh script that's on the desktop. Actually I'm not sure why that's still on the desktop. Whoever made the image should have removed it.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    France/Sweden/Russia
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BT 4R1 on OSX 10.6 using WMware Fusion

    I've extracted the tar archive already

    Extract what? The vmware image is already an installed os. There's no need to run the install.sh script that's on the desktop. Actually I'm not sure why that's still on the desktop. Whoever made the image should have removed it.
    So you mean that using the VMware image I don't need to run any install script or ubiquity command ? Huhu I didn't think about that... Well now I understand why the installer tells me that the disk is already used then !

    Thanks all for your replies.

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: BT 4R1 on OSX 10.6 using WMware Fusion

    Quote Originally Posted by Zarachenko View Post
    I've extracted the tar archive already



    So you mean that using the VMware image I don't need to run any install script or ubiquity command ? Huhu I didn't think about that... Well now I understand why the installer tells me that the disk is already used then !

    Thanks all for your replies.
    Correct. Just delete the install.sh icon on the desktop.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Similar Threads

  1. COmpiz-fusion bug
    By kernelpanic in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 01:52 PM
  2. BT4 and vmware fusion
    By BoogY in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 10:43 PM
  3. Compiz-fusion
    By iceman_3233 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2009, 09:20 AM
  4. Compiz fusion git [how to]
    By alex88 in forum OLD BT4beta HowTo's
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2009, 11:43 PM
  5. Compiz-Fusion 0.7.2 lzm's
    By drgr33n in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 05:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •