Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: terminal command for desktop

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default terminal command for desktop

    Hi is there a command that i can use to kill the desktop and return me to prompt, the logout dosn't and Ctrl Alt F--- not taking me to a prompt, I,m using BT4 thks

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: terminal command for desktop

    Click on the backtrack dragon in the menu bar and hit "Log Out ..." see if that works.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: terminal command for desktop

    I have tried that takes me to a blank screen, also Ctrl Alt F--- the same thing cant do anything then

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: terminal command for desktop

    ctrl + alt + backspace

  5. #5
    Member macphail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: terminal command for desktop

    CTL+ALT+BKSPACE should kill X. no warnings, no saves.
    if you listen closely, you can hear all the 1's and 0's screaming as they run for their life.
    -----------
    ~peace
    MacPhail

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: terminal command for desktop

    I tried that and yes it dose kill it but end up at blank screen I need command prompt, dont know if it helps but cant use Ctrl Alt F2 etc still get a blank screen

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: terminal command for desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by macphail View Post
    CTL+ALT+BKSPACE should kill X. no warnings, no saves.
    if you listen closely, you can hear all the 1's and 0's screaming as they run for their life.
    Lol!

    Quote Originally Posted by spiky001 View Post
    I tried that and yes it dose kill it but end up at blank screen I need command prompt, dont know if it helps but cant use Ctrl Alt F2 etc still get a blank screen
    That's odd... Have you checked the md5sum of your ISO? How are you running BackTrack?

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Ok i,m back been googling, I have found that I can type in tty but cant see any words, If I type reboot -h 0 the system reboots ok but the words never show on the screen, is there a way to adjust something to make them visible, I have seen something about adjusting VGA settings in menu1st? Would this be the correct way with a dual boot system, the other system is using grub2 (1.97)

    Hi I have made some progress with this prob if I do Ctrl Alt F1 etc I can execute commands But I cant see what i,m typing, this is the problem any ideas on how to fix this. The other system on my machine works fine even getting to prompt
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 08-27-2010 at 11:01 AM.

  9. #9
    Member macphail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: terminal command for desktop

    you could try passing a specific resolution to tty on boot, like so:
    Code:
    vga=791
    the '791' is just a suggestion for 1024x768x16. There are cheat-sheets for reference:

    this isn't a BT-specific solution by a long-shot. generic linux stuff that should work just about anywhere.

    I would also suggest that you read this thread:
    [ubuntu] Text Mode Screen Resolution - Ubuntu Forums

    to give you a bit more background and more options on how to solve this. again, not BT-specific. YMMV.

    good luck with that...
    Last edited by macphail; 09-08-2010 at 09:58 PM.
    -----------
    ~peace
    MacPhail

Similar Threads

  1. Desktop Environment freezes during loading desktop
    By E.Hyde in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-23-2011, 05:32 PM
  2. user folders no longer having the desktop mapped to the ~/Desktop/ folder
    By RageLtMan in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 01:05 AM
  3. Need terminal help
    By Ghost40 in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 02:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •