Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

    ASUS X70AB

    AMD Turion RM74
    ATI Radeon HD 4570
    ATHEROS AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    ATHEROS AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethernet Controller

    So with fix-vesa (else "no screens" error will appear) backtrack runs normal exept wlan not found (device named lo and only contains localhost).


    But whats Backtrack without internet

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

    Quote Originally Posted by mcstie View Post
    But whats Backtrack without internet
    Did you even try turning on your network?

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/networking start

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

    no but even if i do it still doesnt work

    the madwifi driver aitn able to instlal on bt4? gives me error every time... (like smth not found even if i make an build everything up...)

    compat-driver (ath5k /9k) gives me back less errors, but now theres even less reaktion of the Atheros card... imma go on tommorw if anybody has an idea why these both driver packages always tell me they cant find some files (what is unexplainable to me because they are original downoad from the original sites).. pls tell me :P
    Last edited by mcstie; 01-20-2010 at 11:59 PM. Reason: going on testing...

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

    Quote Originally Posted by mcstie View Post
    no but even if i do it still doesnt work

    the madwifi driver aitn able to instlal on bt4? gives me error every time... (like smth not found even if i make an build everything up...)

    compat-driver (ath5k /9k) gives me back less errors, but now theres even less reaktion of the Atheros card... imma go on tommorw if anybody has an idea why these both driver packages always tell me they cant find some files (what is unexplainable to me because they are original downoad from the original sites).. pls tell me :P
    This is hard to read so I'll try my best. It sounds like you've screwed up your drivers because madwifi is installed by default. While I do not have your particular card I do have 2 atheros cards and know that the device is now wlan instead of ath. Reinstall or boot from disk and start your networking and wicd and see how well that works.
    If you're missing files post what output you're getting. Otherwise noone can help get your card installed properly.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

    oke i reinstlaled bt, did your "/etc/init.d/networking start" command. A wlan device is detected (wlan0). It has the same Mac Adresse as if i use wlan with Windows. But still if i try to connect to internet it cant resolve host.So i did command "ifconfig wlan0 up" but it still not works. In my network interface window in the controll Center there is only one device caled low but i have no idea how to get wlan0 into that list.if i do "iwlist wlan0 scan" i get servereal networks including the one i want to connect to.Im sry if it sounds nooby but how do i connect to than network :S


    and thx to hhmatt yout posts helped me lot, hope you can read this one easyer xD

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

    You can start the wicd wireless network manager.
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    Then use the GUI to connect to whichever network you chose.

    Or you can check out this helpful thread by pureh@te.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: ASUS X70AB startx needs fix-vesa + no w-lan

    "/etc/init.d/wicd start" onyl results in the message "Starting Network Connection manager: wicd" but no gui appears.

    Also the start over "All Aplication/Internet" doesnt brign up a window. So i tried to run Wicd in foreground but it only says "Starting automatic reconnect prozess" and nothing else happens. wow got it working now


    So update :P backtrack works good on ASUS X70AB!

    If you get screen error (appeared to me when i start live cd), type:
    Code:
    #fix-vesa
    and after that
    #startx
    and it will work

    To start Wlan type

    Code:
    #/etc/init.d/networking start
    and after that

    Code:
    #/etc/init.d/wicd start
    and
    #wicd-client -n
    and everything works just fine

    thx to hhmatt for his helpfull posts

Similar Threads

  1. White screen after running "startx"
    By emximer in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 08:41 PM
  2. ASUS UL30a
    By BeNeDeLuX in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 03:31 AM
  3. startx fails on EeePC 900HA with Intel GMA 950?
    By SteelBytes in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 02:46 AM
  4. Asus N10J
    By Lincoln in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 11:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •