Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Backtrack R1 several errors

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO mania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Backtrack R1 several errors

    Hi all,

    I want to say thank you for R1 It looks awesome. Here are the error I came across;

    Vmware:


    I install vmware 7.0.1, installation was easy smooth. I usually use wireless, I realize I could not get IP for any OS images with bridged mode in vmware using wireless. But when I use cable I can get IP for any OS images.

    VLC

    When I double click vlc to watch any video after I close vlc I get this error 'KDEInit could not launch 'vlc'. But when I open vlc first then watch after I close I get no error.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member macphail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Backtrack R1 several errors

    FAQ | BackTrack Linux - Penetration Testing Distribution


    • Why cant BackTrack use wireless card “X” inside VMWare or Virtualbox ?
    • Any virtualisation software can only use USB wireless network cards as physical devices, all other types of wireless card are seen as virtual ethernet devices and can only be seen as a wireless device by the host and not by the guest operating system. So if you want to run BackTrack in VMWare or Virtualbox and have full wireless capabilities, make sure you are using a USB device.


    Thank you so much for doing a little research before giving up and asking others to do your homework for you... I don't want to insult you by offering solutions to the VLC issue, I'm sure you have found the solution already.
    Last edited by macphail; 08-11-2010 at 02:13 PM.
    -----------
    ~peace
    MacPhail

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO mania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Backtrack R1 several errors

    Macphail you misunderstand the question. Let me rephrase the question for vmware. My OS is Backtrack and I install vmware on backtrack, so my host OS is backtrack not XP or other OS. I cannot get IP for any OS (xp,linux) images with bridged mode in vmware using wireless with backtrack. If I use wireless xp image in vmware can not get IP. But if I use cable XP image in vmware can get IP.

    ps: I search this believe me, so please dont judge people before understand what they are saying.

    cheers

  4. #4
    Member macphail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Backtrack R1 several errors

    ok, so Backtrack installed correctly and seems to be functioning correctly, however you are having an issue setting up networking inside of VMWare using bridged, wireless interfaces. The issues that you are having are independent of image operating system and you can reproduce the issue.

    VMware Communities: Bridged Mode not working ...
    and
    VMware Communities: Bridged mode not working ...
    and
    VMware Communities: Unable to connect in Bridged mode ...
    and
    VMware Communities: Confused with working in bridged mode ...
    and
    VMware Communities: Unable to use Bridged Mode in Wireless ...

    might be a great place to start......good luck with that.
    -----------
    ~peace
    MacPhail

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO mania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Backtrack R1 several errors

    Thanks I will look into that.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Backtrack R1 several errors

    i had a situation where one day the bridged connection was connecting to the network but not getting "internet access" inside a win7 vbox image. i changed the network connection from bridged connection to nat in vbox's network interface settings, maybe give that a go?

  7. #7
    Senior Member skull2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In my skull
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Backtrack R1 several errors

    Quote Originally Posted by IId0seII View Post
    i had a situation where one day the bridged connection was connecting to the network but not getting "internet access" inside a win7 vbox image. i changed the network connection from bridged connection to nat in vbox's network interface settings, maybe give that a go?
    Dude, in VBOX you have to choose which Network Card you will use with Bridge mode it's below the Bridge mode choice.

    SALAM

Similar Threads

  1. What do these errors mean?
    By DarkDavil in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 09:19 PM
  2. Dell Latitude D531 boot errors. (media errors)
    By Dutch in forum OLD BackTrack 4 NON working hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 05:54 PM
  3. Backtrack 3.. Dcop errors?
    By stonedparadox in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 02:35 AM
  4. Backtrack 3 errors
    By Austin4bert in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 03:54 AM
  5. Backtrack 3: Invalid ELF errors.
    By tabcrawler.com in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 01:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •