Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    I do not get an option for my native resolution. I am running BackTrack 4 Final, and I have an Intel GMA 3150 integrated GPU. My laptop is a Toshiba NB 305. My native resolution is 1024x600.

    800x600 is my maximum listed option. I have tried using xrandr to force it to my native resolution, but I just get various errors. Is there any sort of custom driver I can try to get it to work with BT, or will BT provude support for this chipset in the future?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Edit the xorg.conf and add your resolution to it.
    There are a millions guides on the internet how to do this, so a bit of searching should be no problem
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    owners Intel GMA 3150 they need xserver-xorg-video-intel 2.10 or latter. BT 4 supports 2.4 only ... edit xorg.conf won`t help...

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO kwh12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Hi all,
    owner of a asus 1005pe, with a gma 3150 graphic card (atom n450).
    It's insanely difficult to find a solution to this problem.Spent a lot of time trying to have 1024x600 resolution, but nothing worked for me.
    BT4 r1 doesn't help.
    editing xorg.conf doesn't help.
    Is it possible??if you install the latest release of xubuntu(for example) the graphic card is recognized by the system, using it with i915 driver...is it helpful?

    Is there any workaround to have a (even not accelerated) 1024x600 resolution????
    and, if so, could someone explain how to do that?!?!??!
    I think a lot of people have a netbook with an n450, so it should be a very common problem...

    please help....
    thank you
    regards

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    I and many others still have this problem.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Did you ever get this issue fixed, I have the same problem. Please help.

    Quote Originally Posted by falseteeth View Post
    I do not get an option for my native resolution. I am running BackTrack 4 Final, and I have an Intel GMA 3150 integrated GPU. My laptop is a Toshiba NB 305. My native resolution is 1024x600.

    800x600 is my maximum listed option. I have tried using xrandr to force it to my native resolution, but I just get various errors. Is there any sort of custom driver I can try to get it to work with BT, or will BT provude support for this chipset in the future?

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Still having the same problem. Anyone have any ideas?

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Quote Originally Posted by falseteeth View Post
    Still having the same problem. Anyone have any ideas?
    There has been a workaround for the unsupported resolutions of Intel integrated graphics in the bug-fix section for a couple of months; however, I've updated it with more details which should make it easier for beginners. Please see the following thread:

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...tml#post181219

Similar Threads

  1. intel 4500MHD resolution
    By lunar in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 10:42 AM
  2. Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics
    By Big Boss in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 01:47 AM
  3. Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?
    By falseteeth in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 08:53 PM
  4. Bad screen résolution with acer intel gma 4500 m
    By noizzy in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 02:24 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2007, 08:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •