Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    I have the following setup works


    # Victim
    [My Laptop@10.0.0.2] < ---- > [My PC@10.0.0.1 & Gateway@10.0.0.138]


    Works fine running sslstrip & bt4 vm on my pc as the attacker on my eth0 interface.

    What im finding difficult is this setup, it effectively DoS attacks my router.

    # Victim on XP [My Laptop@10.0.0.2]
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> [Gateway@10.0.0.138]
    # bt4 VMware [My Laptop@10.0.0.4]



    - Victim on XP is connected to the gateway on my 1490 Mini WLAN Card.
    - bt4 VMware is using my ALFA'36H to connect to the gateway, so both wireless.

    arpspoof between XP@10.0.0.2 & Gateway@10.0.0.138 with interface wlan0 works. But as soon as i do the iptables i effectivly DoS the router and the victim cannot surf the net, so the attack becomes useless.
    Code:
     iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp --destination-port 80 -j REDIRECT --to-ports 10000
    So all im left with is a forum post from remote exploit i found the other day i cannot find again which breifly mentioned not needing sslstrip to do an attack like this because it is only encrypted with wpa/wep not ssl yet and that i can just run airdecap-ng to take off the encryption.

    So how can i get this working using either method.

    And going back to my original scenario with 1 client. If i reversed roles and used bt4 vmware on the laptop would i be able to do this sslstrip attack on the PC? or is it only limited to being ran from the wired side of the network?
    Last edited by MassAppeal; 01-20-2010 at 01:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    Anyone =[ ?

  3. #3
    Member Mr-Protocol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    142

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    Was the arp spoof successful? Did traffic flow normally without running ssl strip through your "attacking" pc (can use wireshark to verify)? At times when I played with Cain and Abel, it would only do a "one way" spoof because it couldn't complete it. Whether it be windows firewall or the router's firewall or other router/gateway settings that are hindering the arp poison.

    And going back to my original scenario with 1 client. If i reversed roles and used bt4 vmware on the laptop would i be able to do this sslstrip attack on the PC? or is it only limited to being ran from the wired side of the network?
    Not sure how your wireless router/gateway handles the wireless side. It might put it the wireless on it's own little vlan and not allow it to talk to the rest of the network?

    I just got a setup working with a Fonera router with Jasager installed (which is basically karma/karmetasploit) which is wired to my laptop and then the laptop connects to an AP wirelessly. All traffic of clients to the Fon goes through the BT4 laptop which I can run SSL Strip just fine.
    Last edited by Mr-Protocol; 01-21-2010 at 11:25 AM.

  4. #4
    trellis
    Guest

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    Stupid question: are you poisoning both caches? gw - target + target - gw

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    im running this arpspoof command, same as i did for eth0 on my wired side.

    Code:
    arpspoof -i wlan0 -t <targetIP> <GatewayIP>

  6. #6
    trellis
    Guest

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    You have to run it twice, one for gw->client, one for client->gw.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    Ahh thank you very much, i will try that and see how i go.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by trellis View Post
    You have to run it twice, one for gw->client, one for client->gw.
    i had the same problem but now my target computer has internet access but for some odd reason sslstrip doesnt work

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    Yep, the arp poisoning both ways is what did the trick for me. Thanks.

  10. #10
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: sslstrip w/ My Wired-Wireless Network

    Ettercap already does arp poisoning both ways. I advice to try it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. network controller does not apear in lspci
    By leeyj4951 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 06:25 PM
  2. sslstrip v0.7
    By Mr-Protocol in forum Tool Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 06:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •