Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

  1. #21
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by darkoperator View Post
    Found in: https://longjidin.wordpress.com/2010...4-r1-solution/

    I tested it and it worked for me , I'm using BT4-R1 and VMWare Workstation 7.1.2
    Doesnt work for me. I have the same config as you. BT4-R1 on Vmware 7.1.2 with Alfa AWUS036H via USB. I even tried rebooting, etc. I tried this few times with no luck.

    I also tried OP's solution but I got fatal error that r8187 does not exist
    root@bt:~# modprobe r8187
    FATAL: Module r8187 not found.

    Trying to locate r8187.ko
    root@bt:~# locate r8187.ko
    NONE
    root@bt:~# find / -name r8187.ko -print
    /lib/modules/2.6.35.4/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rtl8187/r8187.ko
    root@bt:~#

    EDIT: I tried r8187 but I kept getting fatal error that module is not found. I even tried
    root@bt:~# modprobe r8187.ko
    FATAL: Module r8187 not found.
    root@bt:~# modprobe /lib/modules/2.6.35.4/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rtl8187/r8187
    FATAL: Module r8187 not found.
    root@bt:~# modprobe /lib/modules/2.6.35.4/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rtl8187/r8187.ko
    FATAL: Module r8187 not found.

    I'll like to join nitr00 and kindly request devlopers to try and fix this issue.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by gambitz; 10-29-2010 at 07:22 PM.

  2. #22
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by socialcred View Post
    This is vmware specific problem. Virtualbox BT4R1 vm worked just fine with my Alfa Awus036h with the rtl8187 drivers obviating need for downgrading to r8187 drivers. I was not able to get the r8187 drivers to work with vmware fusion.
    Well, thanks! the problem doesn't show up in VirtualBox, so VMWare seems the problem. But you know what's *really weird* in my case that it worked fine for almost 3 weeks and I didn't upgrade or patch VmWare or the BackTrackR1 guest but it stopped working suddenly.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Ive heard a couple of complaints now about the cable from the awuso36h. Try a different cable. Mine works flawlessly and I can go back and forth to both drivers. and monitor works fine. also did you put it somewhere it could have gotten hot or dropped it wrong?

    try it out on a live dvd and see if the problem transfers over.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  4. #24
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Use airmon-ng start wlan0.
    this will create interface mon0 in monitor mode
    then you bring up mon0 with 'ifconfig mon0 up'

    module r8187 does not exist in BT4RC1. The regular rtl8187 module works fine with the above method.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by socialcred View Post
    Since upgrading my BT4R1 recently (with the new r8187 driver) the fix no longer works. When modprobing r8187 I get the "FATAL: Module r8187 not found" message.
    Has anyone figured out how to bring back the r8187 driver after updating BT4-R1?

    edit: Figured it out. This is how to compile on BT4-R1 which uses kernel 2.6.34

    Code:
    wget http://download.aircrack-ng.org/drivers/rtl8187_linux_26.1010.zip
    wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1522424/rtl8187_2.6.34.patch
    unzip rtl8187_linux_26.1010.zip
    cd rtl8187_linux_26.1010.0622.2006
    tar xzf drv.tar.gz
    tar xzf stack.tar.gz
    patch -Np1 -i ../rtl8187_2.6.34.patch
    make
    make install
    
    rmmod r8187 rtl8187 mac80211 cfg80211
    modprobe r8187
    Last edited by yeehawjared; 11-18-2010 at 07:57 AM.

  6. #26
    Just burned his ISO BAGMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Thank you very much yeehawjared, worked for me...

  7. #27
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Worked for me as well.

    I went ahead and saved the following as a script called fixwifi and run that whenever my adapter shuts off. Works like a charm. I wish we could figure out how to stop it from happening from the beginning cause this never happens with the r8187 drivers. In any case, it's nice to know how to fix it. So using the above patched driver method I can use the r8187 driver and using the code I pasted below I can get the rtl8187 drivers working. Now I can use either in bt4 r2.

    Code:
    rmmod rtl8187
    rfkill block all
    rfkill unblock all
    modprobe rtl8187
    rfkill unblock all
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    Last edited by Jayman007; 11-27-2010 at 02:34 AM.

  8. #28
    Junior Member nam5301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    72

    Question Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by muts View Post
    In our tests we have found the rtl8187 driver to behave strangely in VMware environments. Eight out of ten times, the card would not go into monitor mode, and spit out this error:

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan0


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132

    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)


    To solve this, you can switch to the ieee80211 r8187 drivers, which will work just fine:

    rmmod rtl8187
    rmmod mac80211
    modprobe r8187

    And to make these changes permanent, modify your /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist file to blacklist ONLY rtl8187. Entry should look like this:

    blacklist snd_desktop
    ...
    #blacklist r8187
    blacklist rtl8187
    ...
    ===============================================

    Okay, i'm curious but, does this error only occur in the VMWARE environment? I am running Backtrack 4 R2 from hard drive installation and not in VM. I have the ALFA AWUS036H and I am afraid to do a apt-get update or apt-get upgrade . Since that is what causes Alfa to not work when trying to set it to monitor mode. wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132

  9. #29
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    I have had this chip set working perfectly at times and randomly stop working, coming back with the "Unknown error 132".

    When it is not working, if I run the dmesg command, it shows a bunch of lines that say
    "Registered led device: rtl8187-phy0"
    then a few more lines down it shows
    "Registered led device: rtl8187-phy1"
    with the last line of the dmesg readout being
    "rtl8187: wireless radio switch turned off"

    I believe the problem might be developing with the driver trying to register multiple "phy" devices with the same driver. Unfortunately, I am fairly new to linux and am not sure how to get rid of all those "phy0", "phy1" devices.

    Hopefully this makes sense.

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    110

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132


Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 05:53 PM
  2. How to switch to managed mode from monitor mode backtrack 3?
    By donjuanzx9 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 04:41 AM
  3. error setting monitor mode on wlan0
    By kikoman in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 04:53 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 12:31 PM
  5. Error when trying to put card into monitor mode
    By ESC201 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2007, 09:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •