Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO MotherRuss1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    8

    Thumbs up Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    thank u

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    turns out for me after the fix here i can not get it to display mon0 but can use wlan0 for injection anyway now

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO siliano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    FR
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by txt3rob View Post
    i can not get it to display mon0 but can use wlan0 for injection anyway now
    Ok this is normal, i suppose it is due to the new r8187 driver , interface mon0 does not exist anymore with this new r8187 driver.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    im not sure if it's just me now the injection works fine but can not for the life of me get it to display or connect to any AP's via WCID?

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by txt3rob View Post
    im not sure if it's just me now the injection works fine but can not for the life of me get it to display or connect to any AP's via WCID?
    I'm not using vmware.. but when I blacklist rtl8187 and use r8187 I get "bad password" when connecting to my WPA2 network via WICD. WICD also recognizes the network as "WEP" instead of WPA2 when using this driver. Additionally, I can only see my AP with -1 signal and I can't see anything else, when normally I can see at least 5 or 6 APs. The latter problem being a known issue I guess.

    This is using backtrack r1.

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by siliano View Post
    Ok this is normal, i suppose it is due to the new r8187 driver , interface mon0 does not exist anymore with this new r8187 driver.
    r8187 is the old driver for this chip, it would be better to use the new RTL8187 driver...

    But using RTL8187 in VMware gives us some errors, and using the older r8187 gives us some serious stability issues. I think this stability issue is caused by the usb driver of either VMware-tools or Backtrack, but as mentioned by some others the problem also exists when running BT from a booted USB flash disks...

    So im asking the BT-Devs kindly to check and maybe fix/patch the BT USB drivers as many users are using adapters with the RTL8187 chips.

    Thanks!

  7. #17
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    This fix used to work for me (using my Alfa awus036h). Since upgrading my BT4R1 recently (with the new r8187 driver) the fix no longer works. When modprobing r8187 I get the "FATAL: Module r8187 not found" message. I know there are many issues with the r8187 driver, but since there is a brand new one provided for BT4 I thought I would ask before experimenting too much....(I am using vmware)....

    Any thoughts or similar experiences?

  8. #18
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    This is vmware specific problem. Virtualbox BT4R1 vm worked just fine with my Alfa Awus036h with the rtl8187 drivers obviating need for downgrading to r8187 drivers. I was not able to get the r8187 drivers to work with vmware fusion.

    Quote Originally Posted by socialcred View Post
    This fix used to work for me (using my Alfa awus036h). Since upgrading my BT4R1 recently (with the new r8187 driver) the fix no longer works. When modprobing r8187 I get the "FATAL: Module r8187 not found" message. I know there are many issues with the r8187 driver, but since there is a brand new one provided for BT4 I thought I would ask before experimenting too much....(I am using vmware)....

    Any thoughts or similar experiences?

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO darkoperator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by socialcred View Post
    This fix used to work for me (using my Alfa awus036h). Since upgrading my BT4R1 recently (with the new r8187 driver) the fix no longer works. When modprobing r8187 I get the "FATAL: Module r8187 not found" message. I know there are many issues with the r8187 driver, but since there is a brand new one provided for BT4 I thought I would ask before experimenting too much....(I am using vmware)....

    Any thoughts or similar experiences?
    After some research I found this:


    1. Download rfkill from http://wireless.kernel.org/download/...ll-0.4.tar.bz2

    2. install the package

    3. rmmod rtl8187

    4. rfkill block all

    5. rfkill unblock all

    6. modprobe rtl8187

    7. rfkill unblock all

    8. ifconfig wlan0 up — mine is wlan1

    i hope this will help !!!
    happy cracking


    Found in: https://longjidin.wordpress.com/2010...4-r1-solution/

    I tested it and it worked for me , I'm using BT4-R1 and VMWare Workstation 7.1.2

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Hi,

    locate your r8187.ko, maybe you'll find it in /lib/modules/2.6.35.x

    This is the reason modprobe can't find it, i think it's a bugged r8187-drivers package updated with apt-get tool. BT R1 has 2.6.34 kernel in freshly downloaded VM.

    Maybe someone knows to do how to manage this issue ?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 05:53 PM
  2. How to switch to managed mode from monitor mode backtrack 3?
    By donjuanzx9 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 04:41 AM
  3. error setting monitor mode on wlan0
    By kikoman in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 04:53 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 12:31 PM
  5. Error when trying to put card into monitor mode
    By ESC201 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2007, 09:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •