Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

  1. #1
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    In our tests we have found the rtl8187 driver to behave strangely in VMware environments. Eight out of ten times, the card would not go into monitor mode, and spit out this error:

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan0


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132

    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)


    To solve this, you can switch to the ieee80211 r8187 drivers, which will work just fine:

    rmmod rtl8187
    rmmod mac80211
    modprobe r8187

    And to make these changes permanent, modify your /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist file to blacklist ONLY rtl8187. Entry should look like this:

    blacklist snd_desktop
    ...
    #blacklist r8187
    blacklist rtl8187
    ...

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Exclamation Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Hi muts
    We tried this while I was talking to you on irc. It worked.
    But now it just wont work anymore :/
    My VMWare BT4-R1 seems very unstable..
    The fact is:
    airmon-ng
    interface chipset driver
    wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]
    rmmod rtl8187
    rmmod mac80211
    modprobe (after very long time it finishes)
    but..
    airmon-ng
    interface chipset driver


    Now I have no interface anymore

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by Rafter View Post
    airmon-ng
    interface chipset driver
    wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]
    rmmod rtl8187
    rmmod mac80211
    modprobe (after very long time it finishes)
    but..
    airmon-ng
    interface chipset driver
    Did you just wrote "modprobe" into command line? Aren't you forgetting about the r8187 part?

    Code:
    rmmod rtl8187
    rmmod mac80211
    modprobe r8187

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO siliano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    FR
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Hi guys
    I began to wonder if that came from me or not, i had the same problem with my AWUS036H and in parallel the green led on my card was switched on as if the highpower mode was on but it was not.
    I solved the problem by typing the command line quoted higher except "rmmod mac80211" and now the card works well, injection too.
    Last edited by siliano; 08-09-2010 at 11:01 AM.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by Snayler View Post
    Did you just wrote "modprobe" into command line? Aren't you forgetting about the r8187 part?
    Code:
    rmmod rtl8187
    rmmod mac80211
    modprobe r8187
    Hey Snayler..
    Yes sorry, my forum post is messi Havent learned yet to place it in tables aso..
    I did NOT forget to write r8187 in command line.. Just forgot to write it here in forum. Sry.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by siliano View Post
    Hi guys
    I solved the problem by typing the command line quoted higher except "rmmod mac80211" and now the card works well, injection too.
    I also tried NOT doing the 'rmmod mac80211' command, but still it freezes and nothing good happends except I have no interface afterwards..

    Finally, made it work.. Although it seems sometimes it won't work.

    Searched through forums and google, and stumbled over an advice that said: "Make sure Network is startet [ON], before doing modprobe r8187"
    Had some problems when networking was not startet, and made it work when starting network prior to modprobe..

    Could anyone of you experts confirm this being an issue?

    Thanks to muts for the solution
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 08-12-2010 at 07:13 PM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    im having the same issue no interface after that fix :S

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Quote Originally Posted by txt3rob View Post
    im having the same issue no interface after that fix :S
    I was able to get it working well on r1 with networking started, rmmod rtl8187, and modprobe r8187. To clarify I am running it off of an SD on an eee with a AWUS036H. One curious thing was that it did rename my wlans which confused wicd lol. If anyone has issues try forcing managed mode when finished with monitor mode. (iwconfig wlan0 mode managed)

    so what worked is...

    /etc/init.d/networking start
    rmmod rtl8187
    modprobe r8187

    My issue was that I couldn't get it to stay in monitor mode longer than a second. I realize it's not exactly 100% related to this issue as I am not using VM but this did come up in my google search and help me. btw the AWUS036H is fantastic... 100,000+ ivs with deauth & arpreplay in like 2 min lol On AN EEEPC!

    I remember reading about the bt4 rtl8287 / r8187 drivers and that the bt4 version is the patched version. Here's the aircrack-ng link to the patched driver and its info/limitations. r8187 [Aircrack-ng]

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    im having the same issue no interface after that fix :S
    I am also having this problem. Lots of issues running r1 in vmware.

    I have tried all suggestions in this post and i always lose interface.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: howto - rtl8187 backtrack r1 monitor mode - Unknown error 132

    Same issue tried

    rmmod rtl8187
    modprobe r8187

    Also

    rmmod rtl8187
    rmmod mac80211
    modprobe r8187

    Sadly not helped, interface was gone, just reboot helped. But then I had again - Unknown error 132

    I dosn't matter if I just up the interface wirth "ifconfig wlan0 up" or use monitor mode!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 05:53 PM
  2. How to switch to managed mode from monitor mode backtrack 3?
    By donjuanzx9 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 04:41 AM
  3. error setting monitor mode on wlan0
    By kikoman in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 04:53 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 12:31 PM
  5. Error when trying to put card into monitor mode
    By ESC201 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2007, 09:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •