Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    I have a Toshiba NB 305 with this integrated video controller, and I just can't get my resolution to its native 1024x600 in Backtrack 4 Final. It's automatically set in Ubuntu, but it just won't work in BT.

    800x600 is the highest resolution available, but I know the GPU and monitor definitely supports 1024x600.

    I've tried creating a new mode in xrandr, but it just says "failed to change the screen configuration" every time. Is there some sort of custom driver I could try?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Edit the xorg.conf file.
    /etc/X11/ Open it up and look for the "display" section. There you will see several ( or maybe 1) resolution. Add yours "1024x600" << This is probably 1024x800 So double check.
    Or try running fixvesa at the prompt before you start the x server.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    - edit xorg.conf file dont work for intel gma 3150
    - fixvesa work, but resolution is 800x600 only
    - must be install driver xf86-video-intel min 2.9.0 release
    problem: for install this driver you'll need several development packages installed - xorg-x11-server-Xorg >= 1.3.0.0-6, xorg-x11-server-sdk >= 1.3.0.0-6, libXvMC-devel, mesa-libGL-devel >= 6.5-9, libdrm-devel >= 2.0-1 and this packages are not standard update, upgrade in backtrace 4 and backtrace 4 r1...

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel-Amael View Post
    Edit the xorg.conf file.
    /etc/X11/ Open it up and look for the "display" section. There you will see several ( or maybe 1) resolution. Add yours "1024x600" << This is probably 1024x800 So double check.
    Or try running fixvesa at the prompt before you start the x server.
    I've tried that, and I've also tried manually forcing the resolution with xrandr. I just get "error switching to resolution" and 800x600 stays as my max.

    I have tried every singe bash/config setting there is, to my knowledge. Here are some other threads I've consulted of people with this chipset having the same issue:

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...esolution.html
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...-one-532h.html

    No one in any of those threads was able to resolve the issue. Is there any sort of update or upgrade I can do to get some drivers that may work, or some sort of custom driver? Anything?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Hi i have the same issue with my Asus eee PC and im also stuck with the 800x600 resolution.

    If i get more info on this i will make sure to share the info. GL

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    Does anyone have a resolution - I am stuck in 800*600 too!

    Please help!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Intel GMA 3150 Resolution Support?

    I'm having the same problem with my asus 1001 px.

    I'm trying to find a solution but currently i'm stuck at the 800*600

Similar Threads

  1. intel 4500MHD resolution
    By lunar in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 10:42 AM
  2. Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics
    By Big Boss in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 01:47 AM
  3. Bad screen résolution with acer intel gma 4500 m
    By noizzy in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 02:24 PM
  4. Intel 4965 BT support?
    By cruisx in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-06-2009, 08:07 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2007, 08:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •