Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    Quote Originally Posted by RexBudman View Post
    I do not think it is an issue of sub-par card, but more-so to do with the OS being used and drivers loaded. It seems that amongst the users who report bad connectivity via RTL8187, they all report fantastic connectivity via Windows OS. Strange, I know.
    Actually, this isnt strange at all.

    I have tested the AWUS036 for a long time with distant access points 1-2 miles, and have had great success with this adapter.

    However, when I use it with BT, or Linux, the range and ability to stay connected is miserable.

    I would have to point my fingers to the linux drivers vs the windows drivers. The hardware is all the same, so all thats left is the software (for the 8187L).

    I am trying to figure out if anyone knows a way to get the AWUS036H to perform as well on Linux as it does on Windows.

    For the people that are bummed about the AWUS036H, try in on Windows, you'll see what the hype is about.

    Now, if it would just work as well on Linux it would be nice...

    Anyone know of anything with this?

    Do people get better performance with the mac or ieee drivers?

    And to test this, just try to connect and surf the web, thats the easiest test.

    Mark

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    I just got 2 AWUS036H's in the mail today and can only say they are amazing. I had previously been using the BCM4312 that is built into my portable and after reading this I decided to test it out myself.

    From a range of 5-10 meters from my own AP, I am seeing at least 3x the packets and beacons from the alfa than my broadcom. I am using the packaged 5db antenna and the house is constructed of solid concrete.

    Attaching the 9db (also came with it) I don't see much change, but notice a slightly better connection (no more than 5-7 db).

    Wondering if maybe you got bunk adapters I decided to try my other one, but the results were the same. I also had a friend setup an AP in his window and I was able to hit it from about 400 meters with the alfa, but the broadcom couldn't even pick it up. I suppose its still possible that you got a bad "card", or something between the signal and your PC isn't working properly.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    Quote Originally Posted by r4d1x View Post
    I just got 2 AWUS036H's in the mail today and can only say they are amazing. I had previously been using the BCM4312 that is built into my portable and after reading this I decided to test it out myself.

    From a range of 5-10 meters from my own AP, I am seeing at least 3x the packets and beacons from the alfa than my broadcom. I am using the packaged 5db antenna and the house is constructed of solid concrete.

    Attaching the 9db (also came with it) I don't see much change, but notice a slightly better connection (no more than 5-7 db).

    Wondering if maybe you got bunk adapters I decided to try my other one, but the results were the same. I also had a friend setup an AP in his window and I was able to hit it from about 400 meters with the alfa, but the broadcom couldn't even pick it up. I suppose its still possible that you got a bad "card", or something between the signal and your PC isn't working properly.
    Have you tried the Alfa in Windows yet?

    My concern/issue is that card works better under Windows then Linux. And I am pretty sure this is a driver issue. There is no doubt, under Linux, the card is the best around. The issue I have is its even better when running under Windows with the windows drivers.

    I dont think its an issue of bad Alfa's, I am pretty convinced its driver issues with the 8187L under Linux.

    Mark

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    Quote Originally Posted by kiltym View Post
    Have you tried the Alfa in Windows yet?

    My concern/issue is that card works better under Windows then Linux. And I am pretty sure this is a driver issue. There is no doubt, under Linux, the card is the best around. The issue I have is its even better when running under Windows with the windows drivers.

    I dont think its an issue of bad Alfa's, I am pretty convinced its driver issues with the 8187L under Linux.

    Mark
    No I haven't, but I have a strict rule regarding windows boxen and wireless. Basically, it doesn't happen. In fact, my dd-wrt AP doesn't even touch a network, it just exists.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    I do not see them as a dissapointment... Show me other products that gives you a better range? Have you tried Router with 1000mw and 24 db antennas? I use different alfa products and I am wery satisfied with them. Nothing beats them.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    I've got a few Alfa adapters and I have to say that the AWUS036H is my favourite. It just works with pretty much everything. I also have an inbuilt broadcom variety 43xx and while it performs the same in short distance from the AP, the Alfa easily beats it anything over +10m
    proud user of backtrack-ng and aircrack-linux

  7. #17
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default AW: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    Just a hint to check if your Alfa is working on 1000mw as it should:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    You should see

    Tx-Power=30 dBm
    If it's <30 dBm, in my case in Backtrack it was 20 dBm out of the box, try

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iw reg set BO
    and check again with

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    Now it should be working at 30 dBm which gave me way better results then using it on 20 dBm

    Bye,

    Carnivore

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: AW: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    Quote Originally Posted by Carnivore View Post
    Just a hint to check if your Alfa is working on 1000mw as it should:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    You should see



    If it's <30 dBm, in my case in Backtrack it was 20 dBm out of the box, try

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iw reg set BO
    and check again with

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    Now it should be working at 30 dBm which gave me way better results then using it on 20 dBm

    Bye,

    Carnivore
    I was having similar issues dropping access points after a few minutes in bt4 final. I installed r2 today to see if this improved the performance any. An iwconfig showed that my Alfa was running at 20dBm out of the box. I tried root@bt:~# iw reg set BO, but it didn't seem to work for me. I experimented a bit and had success with the following command:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig <device> txpower 30
    The connection to the AP that was continuously dropping last night has been rock solid since. A big thanks to everyone in this thread, hopefully this will help some other people with similar issues.

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO jacko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    I just wrote a script to get around this problem.. try connecting through vmwares bridged adapter and use windows to manage the connect

    least it works with ettercap dns spoofing to apache and pcap capture.. sslstrip has issues using the bridged adapter though.. could only get it to log but not strip, and from what I could see in the logs, getting errors related to forwarding packets from the ssl server to sslstrip

    everything works but slow connecting through bt4 r2.. just night and day between the two in connect speed.. try using windows for the wireless connection.. it seems you can get away with this for ettercap.. maybe someone knows something that can be tweaked in bt to improve it

  10. #20
    Junior Member Deadboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: AW: Alfa AWUS036H.... Dissapointment??

    Quote Originally Posted by edriggers View Post

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig <device> txpower 30
    The connection to the AP that was continuously dropping last night has been rock solid since. A big thanks to everyone in this thread, hopefully this will help some other people with similar issues.
    I'm having some trouble changing the txpower from 20 to 30 on my ALFA AWUS036H using the command above. I issued the following commands:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan1 down
    iwconfig wlan1 txpower 30
    and I receive the following error:
    "Error for wireless request "Set Tx Power" (8B26) :
    SET failed on device wlan1 ; Invalid argument."

    Edit: the above command "root@bt:~# iw reg set BO" does the trick for me.
    Last edited by Deadboy; 03-03-2011 at 11:54 AM.
    "Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users? "

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Alfa AWUS036H: To buy or not to buy?
    By riahc3 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 02:38 PM
  2. ALFA (AWUS036H) help
    By fossilk1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2009, 07:35 PM
  3. Possible Bug Alfa AWUS036H
    By fload in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 04:48 AM
  4. Why buy the Alfa AWUS036H?
    By StriderZ in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-17-2007, 08:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •