Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using your harddrive + USB for BT 4 space?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Using your harddrive + USB for BT 4 space?

    So I have BT 4 on my USB drive, and the space isn't much, so I was wondering if I could force BT 4 to use my HDD for space.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Using your harddrive + USB for BT 4 space?

    Space for what? You can mount volumes on your hard drive and use them for general purpose storage if you wish - user files, etc.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Using your harddrive + USB for BT 4 space?

    What about for BT packages? How would one go about using my HDD for storing things such as OpenOffice or a MP3 player and then having it automatically read the installed programs so I can launch them.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Using your harddrive + USB for BT 4 space?

    There no inbuilt BackTrack option to do this. However, that being said, I'm sure it would be possible - Linux is after all very flexible - but its likely to involve a certain amount of effort and investigation on your part. People here may be able to give you hints, but its likely you'd be doing your own trailblazing...
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums Eatme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Socks5
    Posts
    308

    Default Re: Using your harddrive + USB for BT 4 space?

    why didn't you do the opposite. Install on HDD, and use usb(s) for extra space, in case your HDD runs out.
    Wiffy-Auto-Cracker - was the best thing that ever happen to me. :) Wo0oT :)
    AWUSO36H_500mW_5dBi Antenna

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Using your harddrive + USB for BT 4 space?

    You would need to reconfigure each package we build, and that's not gonna be possible.
    You see, each one is designed to install part(s) into certain directories. A better idea would be to use another HDD that has more space.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Similar Threads

  1. How to install BT3 on Harddrive
    By ph0ram in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-31-2009, 12:48 AM
  2. no harddrive
    By BT2008 in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2009, 04:41 PM
  3. Trying to install bt3 onto my laptop harddrive
    By benny999 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2008, 05:54 AM
  4. Dead Harddrive?
    By 7ELEVEN in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-09-2008, 10:51 PM
  5. Does not mount harddrive.
    By Godwin Austin in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2008, 04:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •