Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Detecting Probes Only

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6

    Default Detecting Probes Only

    I've been toying with Kismet in recent weeks and I'm happy detecting APs and Probes with this tool. Is there a way that Kismet can be editted to solely log probes as opposed to Access Points?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Detecting Probes Only

    Well when you read the kismet docs what did you find out?
    Kismet
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel-Amael View Post
    Well when you read the kismet docs what did you find out?
    Kismet
    The Kismet guidance says:-

    "Probe tracking. By default, Kismet tracks probe requests and responses, and attempts to combine a probe request network with the network that responds to it. Sometimes this isn't the desired behavior, by setting 'trackprobenets' to 'false', probe requests will always remain separate."

    ....but this doesn't really provide the solution I'm looking for. I sdon't want Kismet to report on any AP at all and solely on probes (devices). The documentation doesn't seem to provide a solution to this.

    So I've spent the past 2 weeks continuing to research this topic but still, to no avail.

    Does anyone know if there is a way to monify the Kismet config to solely detect probe (device) broadcasts and not access points? If not, are there any other tools that can be configured to solely detect device broadcasts?
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 08-23-2010 at 09:24 AM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Detecting Probes Only

    Ok maybe there is a miscommunication here, A wireless card can send out different types of probes and (sometimes) get back various probes in response.
    For instance we can use an injection test to send out broadcast probes, this can cause Access points to respond with a description of itself, we can also send out directed probes to those access points to determine if you can communicate with it and how well.
    There is more to it than that, but if you are wanting to detect the probes of say another wireless card, then you could use wireshark and or tcpdump to parse your kismet dumps, Kismet also has some filtering options built in, but I don't believe they are as good as the ones in wireshark.
    Also have a look at this, for more info.
    Introduction to Kismet - www.wi-fiplanet.com
    faq [Aircrack-ng]
    Detecting Unauthorized 802.11 Cards and Access Points
    links [Aircrack-ng]

    Those links contain a lot more information to better guide and help you.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Detecting Probes Only

    Archangel-Amael, many thanks for your reply. I'll look at the links you suggested

Similar Threads

  1. detecting USB?
    By m90ali in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 02:28 PM
  2. USB detecting
    By Guerreiro in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 10:15 AM
  3. Any way of detecting if I'm being sniffed?
    By bidon in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-25-2008, 05:33 AM
  4. airodump and probes
    By level in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2007, 05:41 AM
  5. I see many probes and only one station..
    By gama71 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 12:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •