Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: can not update or install konsole on backtrack4

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default can not update or install konsole on backtrack4

    hi everyone, i am really new at back track, i have watched a lot of tutorial videos, and read quite a few articles about this but i can not seem to find out what i need.
    first off i downloaded the backtrack 4 iso and installed it to a usb stick using unetbootin. i followed the same process stated on the backtrack site and everything went fine. now after that was done i restarted my laptop and went into the bios and changed it so that it boots from usb. once that was done it boots up fine i get to this menu:
    UNetbootin
    Default
    Start BackTrack FrameBuffer (1024x768)
    Start BackTrack FrameBuffer (800x600)
    Start BackTrack Forensics (no swap)
    Start BackTrack in Safe Graphical Mode
    Start BackTrack Persistent Live CD
    Start BackTrack in Text Mode
    Start BackTrack Graphical Mode from RAM
    Memory Test
    Boot the First Hard Disk

    i just press enter on default.
    after it takes me to this screen where there is 1 shell/konsole with a green and blue frame and on top the backtrack logo but a chinese character instead of the number 4.
    now from what i can tell everything works fine, i do have the problem that i need multiple konsoles/ shells open. i type int he command konsole, and get something that says that it isnt installed to type in apt-get install konsole. once i do that it says something about not being fully installed and to try apt-get update or --fix ( i think dont remember). i have noticed that when trying to install konsole or even doing apt-get update it can not connect to the source. i was wondering if it is just easier to install vm workstation and maybe since i am in windows then i should have my connection or was thinking of downloading backtrack 3 and installing that on usb, from what i have read i think tha tone already comes with konsole installed. any suggestions at all please?

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: can not update or install konsole on backtrack4

    Konsole is already installed in BT4. What you're looking for is the graphic interface of BackTrack. Which can be accessed by googling.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: can not update or install konsole on backtrack4

    This is not a problem and your concerns have all been covered. Now would be a good time to start searching.
    Look at the how-to and forum faq sections.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Similar Threads

  1. Backtrack4 Boot Issues from both USB and HDD Install
    By jglide in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2010, 08:42 AM
  2. Backtrack4 dual boot install windows7
    By DarkKnightit in forum Angolo dei Newbie
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 02:45 PM
  3. Serious problems with install of Backtrack4-final
    By erazzor in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 06:27 PM
  4. How do I install tar package using Shell Konsole?
    By Shehryar in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2008, 04:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •