Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is going wrong?

Just burned his ISO

Default What is going wrong?

Hi,

I have been trying to crack the WEP key of my wireless network at home during the last days but it does not work because I do not get Data-Packets (IVs). Since I am new to this stuff, I have read some howtos: (*) this one for example. I tried this several times but it won't work and I don't know why.

The router I am using is a SMC2804WBR. My desktop-computer is connected to the router via WLAN and is authenticated. Now I am trying to capture Data-Packets with my notebook (+Netgear WG111 v2) using BackTrack 2.0 Final and the Aircrack Suite.

Here is a screenshot which shows what I did: (**)

I don't get any ARP Requests and the Data-Packets are not increasing.
    So.. what is the problem?

(*) hxxp://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=569
    (**) hxxp://img161.imageshack.us/img161/5573/snapshot2ir9.png

/edit: Sry for the hxxp-links, but I am not allowed to post links here

Judging by the screenshot you did get ARP requests, 5 of them. Not sure what your problem is. Did you try the tut that I posted? The one you used is a little dated.

Just burned his ISO

Yes, the tutorial that I used is a little dated but actually only the syntax of the commands has changed and I corrected them properly, so that should not be the problem.

I got 5 ARP requests in 10 minutes.. I think there should be some more? And the problem is that the Data-Packets are not increasing. I only get Data, if the client uses the network (i.e. downloading sth. or surfing on websites). If I understood the tutorials right I should get Data by sending a deauth and then arpreplaying the client's response to create traffic which contains IVs. This seems not to work...