Thread: If this is stupid just say so... I hate broadcom

Default If this is stupid just say so... I hate broadcom

Alright, so I am pretty new to all this Linux stuff now hiding that, but I am fairly sure I am losing my mind over my Broadcom 4312 WLAN card-- i know Linux has problems with Broadcom-- i have extensively researched this damn thing tried countless whatever really yada yada yada. My question is it more appropriate to try and get this thing working and if so really what should i be looking for because under dmesg, lshw -c network its there or should I say bugga and get a new Wireless card and if that is the case any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Just burned his ISO

Default Re: If this is stupid just say so... I hate broadcom

Hi im also new to backtrack, but i did have a good old try at ubuntu last year im running a dell inspirion 1525 that also uses a broadcom wireless card! i had so many problems with it to begin with that in the end i just gave up! In saying that i now believe that some broadcom cards do work! but if this fails have a look at an orinoco gold these can still be picked up at very reasonable prices on the old ebay! Also just make sure it is compatible with your system!

This is just my personal experience and please dont just take my word for it i am certain that others have had the same problems and that someone with more experience and knowledge will be able to shed more light!

Just burned his ISO

@ Cmen007

I did a quick google search and found a few pages that list instructions for installing the Broadcom 4312. I do not know if they work however here is the first page google picked up. How to make the Broadcom 4312 Wireless driver work in BackTrack 4 on the Lenovo S10 « HydTech

This also might be helpful if your doing any wireless cracking. b43 [Aircrack-ng]

All in all it seems like it could work, now its more to put the effort into it or not?

@ bandyleg