Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cannot get Wicd manager to open

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    3

    Default Cannot get Wicd manager to open

    I have been unable to connect BT4 to the internet to get any updates. I have read some of the forums and I turn networking.... Check my wifi in airmon-ng. Looked at networks with airodump so It sees my wifi but just about anything on the desktop seems to be a problem. Do I need to connect with a hard wire for any updates before anything? I have thought twice about posting it seems some of you eat us beginners up as a snack. I have seen the vid on up and running but I cannot do most of what it shows. I have a tri boot system(vista, ubun, BT4. Reading the forums and printing and rebooting is getting to be a pain. Sorry if this is a stupid post but I could use some help. And yes I am waiting for more of the courses to be posted near the end of Aug. so I can do some training.

    I have done a post already but cannot find it. Nothing bad in it for it to be deleted but here goes another. Is wicd manager working in BT4? I can airmon and dump, etc. but as far as connecting via wifi or hard wire I am at a loss. I have read through some threads and I cannot seem to find anything. I learn more from the replies then from the posts themselves. Very helpful group on here! Anyway sorry to ask such stupid questions but I am at a loss and yes I do plan on one of the training glasses just waiting to hear back on what is doing in late Aug/Sept.
    Would it be fixed in updates? Cannot connect regardless.

    Thanks
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 07-19-2010 at 07:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Alittle help please

    this is a common problem, try opening a terminal and entering:

    Code:
    wicd start
    then open the app and try again. if that works you can add the command to the .bashrc file to save yourself the effort of always using the command

    - hope that helps
    "It's a puzzle, Miss Scully, and scruffy minds like me like puzzles. We enjoy walking down unpredictable avenues of thought, turning new corners - - but as a general rule, scruffy minds don't commit murder." - Wilczek, X-files S1E7

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Cannot get Wicd manager to open

    Let's start here: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...backtrack.html
    and once you get to the end and are still having problems try posting your hardware specs. The commands you used and their return values.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  4. #4
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Alittle help please

    I really don't understand this ... first of all read the rules befor posting.
    The title should be specific to what your problem is.

    Oh and try the command:
    Code:
     /etc/init.d/wicd start
    And you can add wicd to start-up with the command:
    Code:
    update-rc.d -f wicd start
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  5. #5
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default Re: Cannot get Wicd manager to open

    I just merged the threads, guess they belong together and the fool just started a new thread instead of replying to the existing one.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Worked fine. Thanks

    This fool did try to find the thread. Thank you for the correction.

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    I just merged the threads, guess they belong together and the fool just started a new thread instead of replying to the existing one.
    ^_^" sorry about that, I must've pressed the wrong button
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 07-20-2010 at 01:05 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. wicd network manager no abre
    By danii in forum Soporte en Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 01:14 PM
  2. Wicd manager starts up, and closes after 5 seconds...
    By jacobtc in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 07:27 PM
  3. * starting network connection manager wicd [fail]
    By vin_akleh in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 09:34 AM
  4. i cant open wicd network manager help !!
    By wa7shaimbot in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 10:18 PM
  5. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 12:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •