Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Problems connectinf to my network and problems after installing vmware tools

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    Smile Problems connectinf to my network and problems after installing vmware tools

    I know that there are dozens of posts about this, but I can't find the sloution, hope you can hel me.
    I'm running the BT4 for vmware on vmware player on a Windows XP. I'm connected to the internet via a Linksys USB Wifi Stick. In my vmware settings, I have the connection as Bridge.

    When I login and type /etc/init.d/networking start I get this:

    [COMMENT]Configuring network interfaces...eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.[/COMMENT]


    Wnen I run ifconfig I get this:

    [COMMENT]eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0c:29:c5:db:49
    inet addr:169.234.178.5 Bcast:169.234.178.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fec5:db49/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:99 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:22 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:14190 (14.1 KB) TX bytes:4056 (4.0 KB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:48 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:48 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4224 (4.2 KB) TX bytes:4224 (4.2 KB)
    [/COMMENT]

    And airmon-ng comes empty, just this:
    Interface Chipset Driver

    My second proble came when I installed vmware-tools, I couldn't open BT4 again, I got an error saying: cannot run in framebuffer mode
    I had to install BT4 all over again.

    Hope you can help me. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default Re: Problems connectinf to my network and problems after installing vmware tools

    It looks like you want to use the wireless stick as a wireless stick in the VMWare is that right?

    If yes, you won't be able to use it like you described it. Please read up what the bridged mode means for network devices.

    Then think a little for yourself and you should come to a conclusion.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Re: Problems connectinf to my network and problems after installing vmware tools

    I'm new at this and probably I'm doing it wrong, so I hope you can help me.

    How can I have access to the web in BT4 running it inside vmware on a PC running Windows XP and connected with a Wifi USB Stick to a router? What mode should I choose? What do I have to do after choosing it? I've been 4 days with this and I can't find the answers, I have followed tutorials and read a hundred answers in forums. Hope someone here can help me with this.

    And do you know whats wrong with the VMware tools installation?

Similar Threads

  1. Help with installing VMWare tools
    By unktehi in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 10:26 AM
  2. installing vmware-tools in vmware-fusion running bt4-prefinal
    By littlegreendragon in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:50 PM
  3. Installing VMware Tools in BT3?
    By squishyalt in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 09:27 PM
  4. Replies: 64
    Last Post: 06-04-2008, 09:40 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2007, 08:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •