Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

    Hi boys, after my installation of the new Backtrack4 R1 my net was too slow, navigating, downloading, I pinged a random IP and my net was lossed the 25% of packets, and have 210 ms of latency!
    If I boot to Ubuntu the internet run normally, quickly, but in backtrack continues this.

    What I can do?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

    Probably start by telling us what hardware you're using to connect to the internet with. Right now with the info you've given us, I'd say pull the string between the tin cans tighter.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

    Also, please include:

    1) whether you were pinging IP addresses or DNS names
    2) Did you try each
    3) what your /etc/resolv.conf looks like
    4) what your routing table looks like
    5) What a traceroute looks like (make sure to disable name resolution)
    6) Try pinging without name resolution (make sure you know what IP address you're trying to ping).

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

    I downgraded to BT 4 final...
    The most easy solution...

  5. #5
    Senior Member lordplagueis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Right now with the info you've given us, I'd say pull the string between the tin cans tighter.
    lmao classic. and to the op I seriously think you need to check your network configuration and or hardware (drivers are likely to be the culprit)
    HP DV7
    8GB DDR3
    Core i7-720QM
    Nvidia GeForce GT 320M

    BT5-64bit x WIN7-64bit DualBoot

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

    My network was slow with both Bt4F and BT4R1. Although I am quite sure it is to do with the card I am using, the RTL8187 Realtek chipset.

    It is so strange that so many users are experiencing the same issues all around, and I am convinced this card is good.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    114

    Default Re: My network was too slow with Backtrack 4 R1!

    for my slow internet i solve :

    sudo nano /etc/sysctl.conf

    and change :

    #net.ipv4.tcp_syncookies = 1

    to :

    net.ipv4.tcp_syncookies = 1
    net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling = 0
    net.ipv4.tcp_ecn = 0
    acer 5920g , 345abg , nvidia 8600m
    bt5 kde 64bit + acpi + cuda 4.0 / nvidia 270.40 / pyrit

Similar Threads

  1. Backtrack 4 slow, not normal slow
    By fjuxed in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 11:41 PM
  2. BackTrack 4 final | very slow in vmware 5
    By Malcode in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 10:07 AM
  3. Backtrack 3 is booting slow
    By Markazeh in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-01-2009, 11:15 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2008, 07:08 AM
  5. Ping latency time very slow Network Problem :(
    By imported_st3alth in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 11:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •