Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ssh-server display error

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default ssh-server display error

    I'm trying to set up a ssh server on my computer and it's giving me an error when I try to ssh into it:

    [COMMENT]root@bt:~# ssh localhost
    root@localhost's password:

    BackTrack 4 (PwnSauce) Penetration Testing and Auditing Distribution

    Last login: Mon Jul 12 02:50:25 2010 from localhost

    X: warning; process set to priority -1 instead of requested priority 0

    Fatal server error:
    Server is already active for display 0
    If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
    and start again.
    [/COMMENT]

    As you can see, I'm not even running it with the '-X' option, but it's still giving me that error. What's the cause of this and how can I fix it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: ssh-server display error

    Try running the man command on ssh and see what it tells you.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: ssh-server display error

    Definitely a case of user not knowing what he/she is doing.
    OP take a look at the man page and some tutorials on using ssh in ubuntu. This is covered extensively.
    UNIX man pages : ssh (1)
    Beginning SSH on Ubuntu | Principia Labs

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default Re: ssh-server display error

    To me, and I'm probably wrong this early in the morning but I'm going to suggest it anyway, it looks more like OP has put a "startx" command in his logon file which is, naturally, being executed by root when he logs in via SSH.

    The most note worthy part here is where the error message is manifesting - after the "last" component of the ssh server.
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: ssh-server display error

    This is what I saw in the first post.
    Code:
     root@bt:~# ssh localhost
    I am wondering (since the OP mentions he is trying to setup an ssh server on his BT machine) if the OP knows that there is already an ssh server setup and is only waiting on a destination and the keys for it. OP there is a tutorial in the how-to that is about networking that will also help out.
    But generally you are wanting something like> localuser@localmachine:# ssh remoteuser@remotemachine

Similar Threads

  1. EEE 1005pe display fatal error no x servers found
    By 3l33t1 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 11:21 PM
  2. Fatal server error! Please help me =)
    By finalfight in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 09:37 PM
  3. Fatal server error
    By maximus121 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-21-2008, 05:03 PM
  4. X server connection error
    By heberling83 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-05-2008, 03:54 PM
  5. sdptool command display error `GLIBC_2.4' not found
    By eschonberger in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2008, 07:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •