Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problem with master mode in BT4

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    51

    Default Problem with master mode in BT4

    Hi guys. I have tried many times with different wireless cards to enable master mode in BT4 but with no luck.
    I tried the default wifi card on a sony vaio, on acer aspire, a cisco usb and in this:

    Ralink Technology, Corp. RT2501USB Wireless Adapter

    The error is:
    Code:
    root@slipknot:/home/# iwconfig wlan3 mode master
    Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) :
        SET failed on device wlan3 ; Invalid argument.
    root@slipknot:/home/a#
    Is there a kernel problem? Or I must install another drivers?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Problem with master mode in BT4

    wlan3? how many wifis you got there?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    51

    Default

    yeah many as i said in my first post. I use laptop with onboard wifi card and 2 external (usb) and no luck for the master mode.

    Is there a kernel problem? BT? or my wificard models are not specific for master mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by ravenrose View Post
    wlan3? how many wifis you got there?
    I have one onboard wireless card and 2 usb. Can anyone help me?

    bump! anyone??
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 04-27-2010 at 06:24 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Problem with master mode in BT4

    Try one card at a time and do not bump your posts please, it's against the forum rules. If anyone knows the answer they will post it.
    While waiting keep searching.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Problem with master mode in BT4

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel-Amael View Post
    Try one card at a time and do not bump your posts please, it's against the forum rules. If anyone knows the answer they will post it.
    While waiting keep searching.
    Ok sorry. I have tried one card at a time but with no luck. I googled for some results and all I got was kernel problems. But I have tried it and in last ubuntu with the latest kernel with no positive results.

    If someone has the answer plz post it here. Thanks

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Problem with master mode in BT4

    Did you get any luck with your setup?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Problem with master mode in BT4

    Not posting these so called kernel problems will not help us to help you.
    The commands you are using will also help.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Similar Threads

  1. PCMCIA wiress che supporta MASTER MODE
    By ale88sv in forum Supporto Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2009, 01:13 PM
  2. What one? USB WIFI MASTER MODE - Out of the box!
    By some1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 06:19 AM
  3. RT73+Master Mode?
    By The_Denv in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 10:32 PM
  4. Master mode + WUSB54GC.
    By some1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 12:13 PM
  5. MASTER MODE with out PCMCIA?
    By some1 in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2008, 10:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •