Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18

    Default Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    Hey Guys,

    I've already used BT4 as VM, Persistent USB and HDD Install on my old computer. When I got my new, with 1GB HDD (Samsung Spinpoint F3) with AHCI I wanted to reinstall it. So I grabbed the *.iso Image, used Unetbootin on my USB-Stick and used install.sh to install it on my HDD. It worked without any error, grub has been properly installed. When I start BT4 now, I need to login - so its not 100% like LiveCD. But on Desktop there is still install.sh, I can't change resolution to 1680x1050. Also, when I try to enable ethernet, using '/etc/init.d/networking start", which worked on my old PC, it just gives me some eth0 connections to 255.255.255.255 with interval, then says some error and continues. I don't know what went wrong. I've attached a screenshot (KSnapshot) of the desktop of HDD Install, showing resolution change screen.

    (ImageBanana - snapshot1.png)
    I hope you know what to do.

    Greetings

  2. #2

    Default Re: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    Well, since the BT4 is installed in your hardware, you need to install and/or configure, the right driver to your video card.

    Have you tried this before ?

    Bye.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    install.sh remains on desktop, you can remove it if you want to

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    Oh, thanks... ^^
    Now to the other questions:
    Why is there no 1680x1050 chooseable if I got that on Windows?
    and...
    Shouldn't eth0 work when a normal LAN Cable is plugged in?
    If you want and need it, I will make another screen of the network establishing errors, too. ;D
    Greetings

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    if u already used a hdd install before u should know that install.sh will be left on the /root
    now for your graphics and networking problem you should give more info about devices you are using so we can think of a solution. bt is linux @ the end and if u are using a hdd install i think you should have some linux knowledge to fully use your hardware and your best friend is google

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    Hmm, thanks for that.
    Thank you, that helped me a bit. ^^
    But I still can't change resolution, and ever when I try to enable ethernet (sure, cable plugged in, works without driver on Windows 7, Mainboard is ASUS M4A87TD) it gives me the following error:

    Needs to have something to do with the installation, on old PC it worked perfectly with BT4, same cable, same router.
    Greetings.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    The DHCPDISCOVER lines are network broadcasts where your eth0 is asking for a DHCP address. Is the other end of the wire connected to a network device?

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Yeah, sure it is. It's a normal router, LAN, and worked before ;D

    I just got the clue that it might help to set a static IP. There are more PCs in the network, connected to this router. (The computers I want to test for vulnerability.)
    € FYI: Didn't worked with static IP D=

    ''fish'd back up''

    Still this problem, changing resolv.conf to another nameserver doesn't even gave me the interval messages, just said failed =(
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 07-03-2010 at 09:49 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    140

    Default Re: Backtrack after HDD Installation - still LiveCD?

    Your backtrack machine is trying to ask your DHCP server for an IP address and it is not getting a response. Most likely causes would be either your DHCP server (probably your router) is having a problem, you do not have the machine connected to it properly, or you have a bad cable.

    First check one of your working machines to see if they have a static ip address. If it does not then try renewing it's ip address to confirm your dhcp server is working. If it is working try taking the cable out of that machine and plugging it into your backtrack machine and run the /etc/init.d/networking start. That should help narrow down where your problem is.

Similar Threads

  1. Is Backtrack 4 pre final release a Livecd?
    By zijin_cheng in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-03-2009, 05:18 PM
  2. backtrack without liveCD
    By IRuleZ in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-13-2008, 09:12 PM
  3. Need Help Installing BackTrack 2 Off LiveCD Onto HardDrive
    By xronis in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-28-2008, 03:55 PM
  4. LiveCD vs. Installation to hd
    By exoxe in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 02:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •