Thread: How to get Kismet started?

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default How to get Kismet started?

Hallo,

finally i got the WLan running under Backtrack in the newest Version. I have a laptor with an "intel 2200bg" chipset. Only Kismet won't work. I saw that a lot of users have this problem. So I tried everything I found here, but it still won't work.
    I have a tried to start it via: start-kismet-ng -> permission denied.
    Then I searched for this error and found this:
    # chmod +x/usr/bin/start-kismet-ng
    # /usr/bin/start-kismet-ng

I entered those two lines in the shell, but I still get the permission denied error.

When I just write "kismet" in the command line i get an error that I have no packsources enabled.

I'm new in to all of this. Sorry.

Thanks for your help

Damnation333

Just burned his ISO

nobody got an idea?

Just burned his ISO

Quote Originally Posted by Damnation333 View Post
    Hallo,

finally i got the WLan running under Backtrack in the newest Version. I have a laptor with an "intel 2200bg" chipset. Only Kismet won't work. I saw that a lot of users have this problem. So I tried everything I found here, but it still won't work.
    I have a tried to start it via: start-kismet-ng -> permission denied.
    Then I searched for this error and found this:
    # chmod +x/usr/bin/start-kismet-ng
    # /usr/bin/start-kismet-ng

I entered those two lines in the shell, but I still get the permission denied error.

When I just write "kismet" in the command line i get an error that I have no packsources enabled.

I'm new in to all of this. Sorry.

Thanks for your help

Damnation333
    did you tray to edit yours kismet.conf file?,you have to modify in "packsources" line you wifi card,let say:eth0,ipw3945,centrino.depends of yours card,check out forum or google re:kismet.conf.
    working with me.

Just burned his ISO

ah. thanks for your response!

I edited the config to: ipw2200,eth1,Intel