Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    25

    Question bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    I just use bt4 live cd and when run in command line some programs i cant roll down the windows to the last string. Maybe i dont know the keys to use to go to last string. This is really discomfortable for me. I cant see the all information.
    Thank you for help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    You are going to need to explain that better. Perhaps provide a screenshot?
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    Have you tried using startx? Or using the less/grep commands?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    For example. I use airodump-ng. I got to many AP and i can roll down this window to look the stations or other AP. Maybe this problem because i use live cd with notebook? Some solutions?
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    Quote Originally Posted by bt4newuser View Post
    For example. I use airodump-ng. I got to many AP and i can roll down this window to look the stations or other AP. Maybe this problem because i use live cd with notebook? Some solutions?
    Thank you.
    I think I understand what you are asking. I had the same issue when I lived in a large city. One of the more obvious things you can do is to search by specific channel using the -c option. Another option would be to change the font size of your terminal. If I remember correctly you need to right click the topbar of the terminal and go to edit.

    *edit*
    There are several filter options that I like to use:
    (I apologize if any of these are incorrect as I haven't audited wireless in over a year and this is all done from memory, use the --help option to see the correct syntax.)
    -a Filter unassociated clients
    --encrypt Filter encryption types (OPN, WEP, WPA)

    Play with some of the options and decide what you like best. Good Luck
    Last edited by hhmatt; 06-28-2010 at 06:28 AM. Reason: Added information

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    as hhmatt said, hone in on a channel and specific bssid to have the noise removed. The font suggestion is also another good idea.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    If you hit tab you can use the directional keys to scroll through the list. You also get more visible AP's if you remove the station list by cycling through the view modes with the 'a' key.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    I am thinking that the OP needs to start the x-server.
    Considering the default setup offered by a live DVD has a scroll bar and a buffer.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: bt4 live cd. Problem with the windows roll.

    Quote Originally Posted by hhmatt View Post
    I think I understand what you are asking. I had the same issue when I lived in a large city. One of the more obvious things you can do is to search by specific channel using the -c option. Another option would be to change the font size of your terminal. If I remember correctly you need to right click the topbar of the terminal and go to edit.

    *edit*
    There are several filter options that I like to use:
    (I apologize if any of these are incorrect as I haven't audited wireless in over a year and this is all done from memory, use the --help option to see the correct syntax.)
    -a Filter unassociated clients
    --encrypt Filter encryption types (OPN, WEP, WPA)

    Play with some of the options and decide what you like best. Good Luck
    I just use the filter --encrypt and filter for channel(i tryed -a but its wont help). And u cant belive this not help. They are so many stations on channel 6 for example. So i will try with font bar.
    Thank you.

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDamien View Post
    If you hit tab you can use the directional keys to scroll through the list. You also get more visible AP's if you remove the station list by cycling through the view modes with the 'a' key.
    I will try. Good idea. Thanks.

    And thats is the problem when you dont know all the commands and keys. Its good when some one can explain.

Similar Threads

  1. Live USB boot problem
    By ripcase in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-11-2010, 10:48 AM
  2. Problem with Live USB
    By Cabs21 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 05:20 PM
  3. How to make Backtrack 4 USB Live from a Windows XP PC
    By veeru2neo in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-01-2009, 04:07 PM
  4. Backtrack 3 Live won't start in windows vista 64-bit?
    By zijin_cheng in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-03-2009, 01:37 AM
  5. Backtrack live cd (windows)
    By Jocce in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2008, 03:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •