Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Installing Back Track on an external hard drive

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default Installing Back Track on an external hard drive

    I am really excited to try out Back Track, this is my first OS different then Windows. I have an 18 gig external SOYO hard drive. Is there a link or directions that I can follow on how to install Back Track on my external hard drive? I found directions on installing back track on USB, Hard Drive, Dual Boot, etc... but nothing on external had drives. Thank you.

    Kermit

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Installing Back Track on an external hard drive

    Change your BIOS to boot from the removable device first, then follow the USB thumbdrive instructions.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Installing Back Track on an external hard drive

    Thanks, I'll try that.

    Kermit

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Installing Back Track on an external hard drive

    Another question, i installed BT4 on a partition of my 500gb external hd, is there anyway that i can pull up the data partition of this harddrive when i boot into Win7? currently it recognized the harddrive but im assuming it sees the boot parition on it and not the data partition...

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Installing Back Track on an external hard drive

    Just remember to install grub on your USB-HD and not on your HD.
    i've been using a spare copy of BT on a USB hard disk for ages so far and the good think is that once plugged the USB drive on each pc, it works perfectly and automatically adjust the screen size.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    12

    Question Re: Installing Back Track on an external hard drive

    To continue this thread and not make a new I have another question.

    I'm using a Soyo 20gig external laptop hard drive. When I installed BT4 on it, it only let me partition like 6 gig on my first partition and 1.5 gig on the second partition. I'm not sure why, anyone have any ideas? Also I keep getting a message that says I am running out of room, would I like to run Kronos or something like that. When it pops up again I'll write it down so I am a little more clear on what I am talking about.

    Did I do something wrong when I partitioned my drive? Is there a way I can partition all of my hard drive space, like 9 gig on partition 1 and 9 gig on partition 2? I was thinking about formating the hard drive again and starting over now that I have more of an idea on how to install it.

    Thanks
    Kermit

Similar Threads

  1. putting BT4 on an external hard drive
    By Kraust in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 05:09 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 08:43 AM
  3. During Boot from External hard drive usb 5200 rpm
    By kiranlinux in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 11:33 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2008, 01:11 PM
  5. Help !Prob installing BT2 to hard drive
    By elabey in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-14-2007, 02:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •