Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: wicd wouldnt connect to wifi

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default wicd wouldnt connect to wifi

    hi,

    im usiiing a DOK with BC4 pre final .
    first, at terminal, i write :

    sudo start-network

    to use wicd..

    in the wicd i see wireless connection (and my own) but could not connect..
    useless to say im connected right now by wired conection.

    ifconfig:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:6c:c0:99
    inet addr:10.0.0.5 Bcast:10.0.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe6c:c099/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:5058 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4439 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:5171428 (5.1 MB) TX bytes:740105 (740.1 KB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:5804 (5.8 KB) TX bytes:5804 (5.8 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:3c:4c:26:8e
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1F-3C-4C-26-8E-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    iwconfig:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:6c:c0:99
    inet addr:10.0.0.5 Bcast:10.0.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe6c:c099/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:5058 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4439 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:5171428 (5.1 MB) TX bytes:740105 (740.1 KB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:5804 (5.8 KB) TX bytes:5804 (5.8 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:3c:4c:26:8e
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1F-3C-4C-26-8E-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    would like some help :P

    thnx in advance !

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: wicd wouldnt connect to wifi

    Try a manual configuration of the wireless interface to see if that works. There's instructions on the old BT wiki - Google for "configure network card backtrack" to find the page.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: wicd wouldnt connect to wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    Try a manual configuration of the wireless interface to see if that works. There's instructions on the old BT wiki - Google for "configure network card backtrack" to find the page.

    so i did ..
    opend a wifi with no key ,
    used dhcpcd . and here :

    root@bt:~# dhcpcd wlan0
    err, wlan0: timed out
    err, wlan0: lease information file `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.info' does not exist
    warn, wlan0: using IPV4LL address 169.254.106.21
    root@bt:~# dhcpcd.sh: interface wlan0 has been configured with new IP=169.254.106.21

    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:"guyoz"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=15 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    says i got an ip but its not the one called 'guyoz'
    its the eth0 ..

    when i try airodump-ng by wlan0 :

    root@bt:~# airodump-ng wlan0
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Device or resource busy

    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start wlan0 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.

    what should i do ??
    thnx for your time..

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: wicd wouldnt connect to wifi

    You should use dhclient instead of dhcpcd on BT4. Is that the correct access point? Is the access point working for other client systems? Id also encourage you to read your error messages more carefully and perhaps Google them.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: wicd wouldnt connect to wifi

    I ran into the same problem as you and I do the following.
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 essid "Wireless network name (WITH QUOTES)" key "wifi key (WITHOUT QUOTES)"
    
    dhclient

Similar Threads

  1. AWUS036H won't connect through Wicd
    By thebigbradwolf in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2011, 10:16 AM
  2. Python error - WICD - wpa dont connect
    By nitroglico in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 12:59 AM
  3. How to Configure Wifi and WICD to Start Automatically
    By iforgetmyname in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 07:20 PM
  4. can not connect to internet via wicd
    By mahabad1972 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-16-2009, 12:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •