Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Starting hostap

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13

    Default Starting hostap

    I know in the other versions it was

    switch-to-hostap

    but I can't find anything about using it in BT2 final.

    I think it may already be started ?




    I'm trying to get into master mode so I can use fakeap .....
    There goes another one down the Sarlaac Pit.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Unfortunately my Senao 2511CD Plus Ext is recognized as herms with orinoco drivers. I wish I could switch that to hostap drivers with chipset recognized as prism

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    242

    Default

    http://backtrack.offensive-security....e=Howto:Hostap

    It's a wiki. :-)

    BT2 is now using pccardctl, which ought to make things interesting around here.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by damocles View Post
    Unfortunately my Senao 2511CD Plus Ext is recognized as herms with orinoco drivers. I wish I could switch that to hostap drivers with chipset recognized as prism
    I also have that card.

    Got it to work I did what the wiki says and it changed my card from eth2 to two things(wifi0 and wlan0) it was doing weird stuff so I took it out and put it back in and it is automatically in master mode, so to connect to the internet I changed back into managed mode

    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed


    Thank You!
    There goes another one down the Sarlaac Pit.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Hostap with Senao2511

    I had the same problem with pclinuxos 93a ... no one seemed to know how to permanently remove the orinoco, hermes mods so I thought I would try BT 2 final.

    It appears to have the same issues. but the example noted does work.

    Not very elegant

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Well, the method mentioned in the Wiki does not help me. My card identifies itself as: "AWLAN", "WS8P/IEEE", "Version 00.00", "" manfid 0x0156, 0x0002.

    So even if manually load hostap still orinoco gets loaded when inserting the card. Any ideas?

    PS: Using BT1 everything works fine, but for BT2 look above.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Luckily I'm not that stupid...

    I solved this patching hostap_cs.c to recognize my card. To make airoscript.sh work you also have to adjust some internal path variable.

    Now I can use my Prism2 card for pentesting my network with BT2 which incorporates some recent SVN version of aircrack-ng and the aforementioned script.

    Now everything works like a charm on my newest dual core laptop. I only have to figure out yet how to utilize my geforce go 7600. I don't expect any help from this forum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •