Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: working through a NAT

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default working through a NAT

    Is there a way to scan via nmap a network behind a NAT for instance:

    Say the public address is 10.10.2.20
    The inside network is 10.10.1.0/24

    how would I scan hosts on the 10.10.1.x network? would I have to penetrate and pivot on one of the hosts in the 10.10.2 network?
    Or is there a more direct route?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: working through a NAT

    Its a simple IP communication issue, because the traffic you send to scan a network or system is just like other IP traffic, and for it to be effective it must be able to be routed to the target system and the replies must be able to come back to your system. In the case of NAT'ed networks, usually only systems which have an interface with a local address in that network will be able to initiate communication to other machines in that network, so you have to make use of one of those systems to send your scan traffic for you. Penetrating and pivoting from a system with an interface in the 10.10.1.x network will work, as will redirectors, RAS/VPN setups, port forwarding, etc.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: working through a NAT

    i just came across a web page that did this to me. It used java to glean my private ip

    Internal IP address - NAT addresses, Private IP, NATed Addy

    I guess you could use java to map the whole network, but big deal?

    BTW, it locates me at a different town than I am in-prob cause I have a dynamic ip being doled out by the central office.

Similar Threads

  1. DNS Spoofing is working/working not!
    By htons139 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 08:20 PM
  2. X not working
    By Korupt in forum OLD Bt4beta Non-Working Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 03:22 PM
  3. dwl g-510 not working
    By cadogan30 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2009, 09:14 AM
  4. Belkin F5D7050e - Confirmed working/Not working?
    By Beanz in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2008, 06:53 PM
  5. Is BT3 working on Eee PC 8G?
    By sig-chn in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 01:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •