Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: when "/etc/init.d/networking start" it just says that "no such device"

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: when "/etc/init.d/networking start" it just says that "no such device"

    I'm having a similar problem. I know very little about networking, but I'm learning. Right now I'm just trying to get the connection working again so I can continue a course I'm taking. I am using a vm machine - and was able to connect fine until I created another vm of Janus. Somehow it messed up my connection because now I can't connect. It's not a wireless issue as I am plugged in with a cable.

    When I type /etc/init.d/networking start this is the output:

    [SPECIAL]Reconfiguring network interfaces...Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:0c:29:57:c6:2c
    Sending on LPF/eth0/00:0c:29:57:c6:2c
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPOFFER of 192.168.239.128 from 192.168.239.254
    DHCPREQUEST of 192.168.239.128 on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPACK of 192.168.239.128 from 192.168.239.254
    bound to 192.168.239.128 -- renewal in 716 seconds.
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface eth1 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface eth2 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface ath0 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface wlan0 before doing NFS mounts
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit DHCP | Internet Systems Consortium

    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.[/SPECIAL]

    When I do an ifconfig -a I get:

    [SPECIAL]eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0c:29:57:c6:2c
    inet addr:192.168.239.128 Bcast:192.168.239.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe57:c62c/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:75 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:196 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:12592 (12.5 KB) TX bytes:16664 (16.6 KB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:37 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:37 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3573 (3.5 KB) TX bytes:3573 (3.5 KB)[/SPECIAL]

    I had it working before, and as I mentioned, I know little about networking - any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    does update the kernel could be a solution?

    Help with getting intel 1000 series working with backtrack 4 final

    This link shows a same problem,it seems that because of the kernel below 2.6.31 need the iwlwifi-1000-2.ucode and iwlwifi-1000-1.ucode,and then the iwlwifi-1000 packet in the link hxxp://intellinuxwireless.org/?n=Downloads has only iwlwifi-1000-3.ucode,so i will try update the kernel later.
    But,before that,besides the wireless,the first problem with the title,in the have-wire situation,why eth0 could not use...........

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    Pessimistically comical @ Barry, excellent. supercodeing35271, you have been told he problem on this page.
    Oh sorry, i hadn't seem it.Does anyone could give me the list about BT4 supported network adapter.


    As i install backtrack on a notebook,if only the wireless problem,i can use a usb wireless network adapter for a change.But if the have-wire network adapter in my notebook doesn't supported by backtrack....
    In a word,i will update my kernel for a try,maybe two problems will be solved with a new kernel.
    Last edited by supercodeing35271; 06-18-2010 at 01:10 PM. Reason: Merging...

  3. #13
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: when "/etc/init.d/networking start" it just says that "no such device"

    Quote Originally Posted by supercodeing35271 View Post
    does update the kernel could be a solution?

    In a word,i will update my kernel for a try,maybe two problems will be solved with a new kernel.
    Updating the kernel might make your network adapters work, but it's probably going to break other things along the way. The current kernel has been optimized for the apps included with backtrack, updating will break that.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-26-2010, 07:03 PM
  2. Silly question: Where are "home" and "system" icons ?
    By fjecp in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 08:57 PM
  3. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 03:54 AM
  4. Any hope for "ipw2100" or "broadcom" card?
    By tom73 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 05:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •