Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Backtrack 64 bit?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Backtrack 64 bit?

    A seemingly-simple question but I can't find the answer: I have 4GB of RAM on my laptop. Is there a way to work with it or is BT 32-bit only?

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: Backtrack 64 bit?

    x86 (32-bit) will utilize 3.5 GB RAM. I believe the last post I saw about this stated that there is currently no intentions of creating and releasing a 64-bit BT. You should still be able to install the current release without issues.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Backtrack 64 bit?

    No 32bit. There may never be one as a fyi. Then again maybe one day there will.
    But most of the applications are not going to be able to take advantage of it.

  4. #4
    Member joker5bb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    166

    Default Re: Backtrack 64 bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by hhmatt View Post
    x86 (32-bit) will utilize 3.5 GB RAM. I believe the last post I saw about this stated that there is currently no intentions of creating and releasing a 64-bit BT. You should still be able to install the current release without issues.
    It depends on memory, the high end memory will only utilize ~2gb in 32bit

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: Backtrack 64 bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by joker5bb View Post
    It depends on memory, the high end memory will only utilize ~2gb in 32bit
    Not to get into a huge memory limit debate. There are a lot of different factors to consider, and it depends on the OS, processor, and motherboard. Here's some reading material to wet your noodle. This distribution should utilize approximately 3.5GB of usable memory.

    Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows)
    Business support forums - P4 with DDR SDRAM?
    4GB Memory Limit? - Ubuntu Forums

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Backtrack 64 bit?

    Thanks for the replies everyone. I checked and I do get ~3.5GB utilized so it's not that big a loss... I've looked around at recompiling a 64bit kernel and it seems like too much of a hassle, especially for a measly 500mb of RAM that I'm unlikely to ever need anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •